Valverde wins 8th Vuelta stage

2012-08-25 17:45
Alejandro Valverde (File)
Collada de la Gallina - Spain's Alejandro Valverde won the eighth stage of the Tour of Spain as Joaquim Rodriguez retained possession of the leader's red jersey on Saturday.

Valverde, riding for the Movistar team, was adding this 174.7km ride from Lleida to Collada de la Gallina in Andorra to his win in the third stage in Alcaniz.

The 32-year-old prevailed in a sprint from Rodriguez and Saxo-Bank's Alberto Contador after the concluding climb up the Col de la Gallina.

Team Sky's Christopher Froome crossed the line in fourth, 15 seconds behind this trio.

In the overall standings Rodriguez continues to hold command from Froome, who lost ground to be placed 33sec behind the leader, and Contador, 40sec adrift, with Valverde 50sec off the pace.

Contador, winner of the Vuelta in 2008, appeared best placed to win the stage when he opened up a gap of around 100m only for Rodriguez and eventual winner Valverde to dig deep and catch him to set up the final dash for the line.

Earlier the day was marked by a six-man breakaway comprising Amael Moinard (BMC) and Michael Buffaz (Cofidis), Australia's Cameron Meyer (Orica-Greenedge), Javier Aramendia (Caja Rural), Javier Ramirez Abeja (Andalucia) and Matijn Keizer.

At the foot of the final climb Meyer made a bid for glory only to be reeled in by the chasing favourites.

Leading Spanish Vuelta results after the eighth stage, a 174.7km ride from Lleida to Collada de la Galina on Saturday:

1. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 4hr 06min 39sec
2. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) at 0:00s
3. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) 0:00.
4. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:15.
5. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 0:23.
6. Benat Intxausti (ESP/MOV) 0:33.
7. Igor Anton (ESP/EUS) 0:33.
8. Winner Anacona (COL/LAM) 0:39.
9. Robert Gesink (NED/RAB) 0:39.
10. Przemyslaw Niemiec (POL/LAM) 0:42.
11. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 0:44.
12. Nicolas Roche (IRL/ALM) 1:02.
13. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA/ALM) 1:02.
14. Laurens ten Dam (NED/RAB) 1:05.
15. Eros Capecchi (ITA/LIQ) 1:06.
16. Tomasz Marczynski (POL/VAC) 1:24.
17. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ALM) 1:25.
18. Maxime Monfort (BEL/RSH) 1:30.
19. Steve Morabito (SUI/BMC) 1:34.
20. Cameron Meyer (AUS/GEC) 1:37.

Overall standings:

1. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 29h59min 35sec
2. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) at 0:33.
3. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) 0:40.
4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:50.
5. Robert Gesink (NED/RAB) 1:41.
6. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 1:48.
7. Nicolas Roche (IRL/ALM) 2:14.
8. Igor Anton (ESP/EUS) 2:47.
9. Laurens ten Dam (NED/RAB) 2:58.
10. Bauke Mollema (NED/RAB) 3:07.
11. Przemyslaw Niemiec (POL/LAM) 3:20.
12. Eros Capecchi (ITA/LIQ) 3:20.
13. Tomasz Marczynski (POL/VAC) 3:26.
14. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 3:34.
15. Winner Anacona (COL/LAM) 3:38.
16. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 3:40.
17. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA/ALM) 3:42.
18. Steve Morabito (SUI/BMC) 4:09.
19. Maxime Monfort (BEL/RSH) 4:12.
20. Bart De Clercq (BEL/LTB) 5:04.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.