South African Cycling

Paulissen wins Epic stage 5

2014-03-28 15:28
Absa Cape Epic (File)

Cape Town - Former two-time Absa Cape Epic winner Roel Paulissen of Belgium was back at the top of the podium on Friday after winning a tough stage five with Italian partner Riccardo Chiarini (Torpado).

South African Philip Buys and Swiss world champion Nino Schurter (Scott-Odlo) finished six seconds behind them after a dramatic chase into the overnight stop at Elgin.

Drama played out in the race for overall honours during Friday's 110km leg.

Early into the stage, leader Kristian Hynek of the Czech Republic, riding with German Robert Mennen in team Topeak-Ergon, suffered simultaneous punctures in both his tyres. Centurion Vaude’s Markus Kaufmann and Jochen Kaess came to their rescue, giving them Kaufmann’s tyres - which happened to be compatible.

Kaufmann and Kaess were already out of the running for the overall victory after a disastrous stage two on Thursday, when the former broke his frame.

In second-place overall, Christoph Sauser of Switzerland, and Czech Frantizek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) made inroads into the Topeak-Ergon team’s nearly 12-minute cushion, but Sauser’s tyre was slashed in a section of singletrack.

In the women’s category, Swiss Ariane Kleinhans and Dane Annike Langvad (RECM 2) won the stage by a significant 14 minutes, taking their overall lead -- over Swiss Esther Suss and Briton Sally Bigham (Meerendal) -- to more than 15 minutes.

This represented a dramatic turnaround after the RECM pairing were nearly 24 minutes behind after Monday’s first stage, where they suffered a series of punctures and technical problems.

The eight-stage race finishes at Lourensford Wine Estate on Sunday.

Results from stage five of the Absa Cape Epic on Friday

Men: 1 Roel Paulissen and Riccardo Chiarini (Torpado) 4:52:03.4. 2 Nino Schurter and Philip Buys (Scott-Odlo) 4:52:09.9. 3 Christoph Sauser and Frantisek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) 4:57:03.4.

Overall: 1 Mennen and Hynek 23:43:31.6; 2 Christoph Sauser and Frantisek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) 23:53:19.3; 3 Tim Boehme and Simon Stiebjahn (Bulls 2) 23:59:24.3.

Women: 1 Ariane Kleinhans and Annike Langvad (RECM 2) 5:29:20.5; 2 Esther Suss and Sally Bigham (Meerendal) 5:43:33.9; 3 Jennie Stenerhag and Theresa Ralph (Cape Brewing Company) 6:09:50.7.

Overall: 1 Kleinhans and Langvad 27:09:10.7; 2 Suss and Bigham 27:24:35.2; 3 Stenerhag and Ralph 28:53:25.6.

Read more on:    absa cape epic  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.