Sagan dominates Tour of Oman

2013-02-13 15:29
Peter Sagan (AFP)

Wadi Dayqah Dam - Slovakia's Peter Sagan of the Cannondale team won a second consecutive stage on the Tour of Oman on Wednesday to strengthen his grip on the overall race leader's red jersey.

Sagan emerged victorious on the 190km third stage from Nakhal Fort to Wadi Dayqah Dam in the Hajar mountains.

In the same spot where he claimed his first win for Cannondale a year ago, Sagan beat Belgium's Greg Van Avermaet of BMC and France's Tony Gallopin of RadioShack to take victory on the line.

Sagan, who won three stages on last year's Tour de France, sits 16 seconds ahead of Gallopin in the overall standings.

A strong field in Oman is headed by last year's Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins, and also features his Sky team-mate Chris Froome, as well as the likes of Tom Boonen, Cadel Evans, Fabian Cancellara and Alberto Contador.

Thursday's fourth stage is a 152.5km ride through the mountains to the finish at Jabal Al Akhdar.

The six-stage race concludes on Saturday.

Results after the third stage of the Tour of Oman on Wednesday, a 190km ride from Fort Nakhal to the Wadi Dayqua Dam:


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 5hr 6min 28secs, 2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) at 1sec, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA) s.t., 4. Albert Contador (ESP) s.t., 5. Marco Marcato (ITA) s.t., 6. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) 4, 7. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 8. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA) s.t., 9. Peter Velits (SVK) s.t., 10. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) s.t.


12. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 13. Christopher Froome (GBR) 36, 18. Fabian Cancellara (SUI), 24. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t., 41. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) 1min 29sec, 76. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 3min 29sec, 91. Tom Boonen (BEL) 4min 30sec


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale)12hr 59min 43sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at 16, 3. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) 26, 4. Martin Elmiger (SUI) 30, 5. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) 31, 6. Marco Marcato (ITA) 32, 7. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t., 8. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) 33, 9. Peter Velits (SVK) 35, 10. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) s.t,


12. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 13. Christopher Froome (GBR) 36, 18. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 40, 25. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t, 41. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) 1min 29sec, 42. Taylor Phinney (USA) 1min 48sec, 76. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 3min 29sec

Read more on:    tour of oman  |  peter sagan  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.