Rodriguez takes stage 6

2011-06-11 20:46
Race leader Bradley Wiggins (File)

Le collet d'allevard -Spaniard Joaquin Rodriguez of Katusha won the sixth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Saturday on a breakaway which saw him see off allcomers on the Collet d'Allevard climb.

But Britain's Bradley Wiggins stayed on course for the overall victory after fending off a determined attack from Kazakh veteran Alexandre Vinokourov on the final climb to stay in the yellow jersey.

Rodriguez went for the line on his own five km out and came in with half a minute to spare ahead of Dutchman Robert Gesink, Belgian Jurgen Van den Broeck and Frenchman Christophe Kern.

Vinoklourov placed fifth just ahead of Wiggins, who held off Australian Cadel Evans on the 11.2km final climb to take his lead over Evans to 1min 26sec and 1min 52sec over Vinokourov.

In holding on at the finish at the 1422m Collet d'Allevard the 32-year-old Rodriguez went one better than a series of recent second place finishes which included the Amstel Gold Race and Fleche Wallonne.

The Catalan racer came in fifth in the Tour of Italy but is not intending to race in the Tour de France.

Sunday's final stage is a 117.5km ride from Pontcharra to La Toussuire.

The stage was earlier disrupted in bizarre fashion when two cows on the route caused a mass fall in the peloton some 25km out from the line.

Several riders, including Frenchman Arnold Jeannesson and Spaniard Mikel Landa, came to grief as the two beasts, having escaped from their field, trotted along the road blissfully unaware of the mayhem they had caused.


1. Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver, Spain, Katusha, 5 hours, 12 minutes, 47 seconds.

2. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Rabobank, 31 seconds back.

3. Jurgen Van Den Broeck, Belgium, Omega Pharma -Lotto, :39 behind

4. Christophe Kern, France, Europcar, :41

5. Alexandre Vinokourov, Kazakhstan, Astana, :50

6. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky, :54

7. Chris Sorensen, Denmark, Saxo Bank, 1:00

8. Jean-Christophe Peraud, France, AG2R La Mondiale, 1:06

9. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, 1:09

10. Thomas Voeckler, France, Europcar, 1:58 ^Overall Standings= ^(After 6 of 7 stages)=

1. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky, 23 hours, 16 minutes, 11 seconds.

2. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, 1:26 behind

3. Alexandre Vinokourov, Kazakhstan, Astana, 1:52

4. Jurgen Van Den Broeck, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, 2:13

5. Christophe Kern, France, Europcar, 2:52

6. Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver, Spain, Katusha, 3:01

7. Jean-Christophe Peraud, France, AG2R La Mondiale, 3:30

8. Kanstantsin Sivtsov, Belarus, HTC-Highroad, 4:14

9. Janez Brajkovic, Slovenia, RadioShack, 4:22

10. Thomas Voeckler, France, Europcar, 4:27



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.