Rodriguez still in red at Vuelta

2012-09-02 18:33
Joaquim Rodriguez (AFP)

Lagos de Covadonga - Spaniard Antonio Piedra won Sunday's 15th stage of the Spanish Vuelta, a 186.5km ride from La Robla to Lagos de Covadonga, while compatriot Joaquim Rodriguez kept the overall race lead.

The Caja Rural rider soared ahead of a breakaway group of riders at the start of the final climb of the race to cross the finish line just ahead of Spain's Ruben Perez Moreno of Euskaltel.

France's Lloyd Mondory finished the stage in third place.

Rodriguez held on to the overall leader's red jersey as well as his 22-second lead over Spain's Alberto Contador, who is in second place.

Another Spaniard, Alejandro Valverde, is in third place in the overall standings, one minute and 41 seconds behind the leader.

Monday sees the peloton head into a third straight mountain stage - a 183.5km ride from Gijon to Valgrande-Pajares that features inclinations of 24 percent during the final three kilometres. Tuesday is a rest day.

The 21-stage Tour of Spain - one of cycling's three 'major tours' along with the Tour de France and the Giro d'Italia - finishes on September 9 in Madrid.

Results on Sunday from the 15th stage of the Spanish Vuelta, a 186.5km ride from La Robla to Lagos de Covadonga:

1. Antonio Piedra, Spain, Caja Rural, 5 hours, 1 minute, 23 seconds.
2. Ruben Perez, Spain, Euskadi-Euskaltel, 2 minutes, 2 seconds behind.
3. Lloyd Mondory, France, Ag2r La Mondiale, same time.
4. David de la Fuente, Spain, Caja Rural, same time.
5. Pablo Lastras, Spain, Movistar, 2:07.
6. Simon Geschke, Germany, Argos-Shimano, 2:12.
7. Kevin Seeldrayers, Belgium, Astana, 2:25.
8. Andrey Kashechkin, Kazakhstan, Astana, 3:35.
9. Vicente Reynes, Spain, Lotto-Belisol, 3:49.
10. Sergey Lagutin, Uzbekistan, Vacansoleil, 6:45.

Overall Standings (After 15 of 21 stages):

1. Joaquin Rodriguez, Spain, Katusha, 58 hours, 17 minutes, 21 seconds.
2. Alberto Contador, Spain, SaxoBank, 22 seconds behind.
3. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Movistar, 1:41
4. Christopher Froome, Britain, Team Sky, 2:16.
5. Daniel Moreno, Spain, Katusha, 4:51.
6. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Rabobank, 5:42.
7. Andrew Talansky, United States, Garmin-Sharp, 6:48.
8. Laurens Ten Dam, Netherlands, Rabobank, 7:17.
9. Nicolas Roche, Ireland, Ag2r La Mondiale, 7:21.
10. Igor Anton, Spain, Euskadi-Euskaltel, 7:39.



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.