Nibali defends Tirreno crown

2013-03-12 17:54
Vincenzo Nibali (AFP)

Rome - Italy's Vincenzo Nibali became the first rider in over 20 years to successfully defend his Tirreno-Adriatico crown on Tuesday as the Astana racer held off the challenge of Britain's Chris Froome.

The Italian is the first rider to defend his crown in the Tirreno since Swiss Tony Rominger in 1989-1990.

Froome had begun the day 34sec behind his rival and Nibali was able to hold him off to take the overall win following a 9.2km time-trial around San Benedetto del Tronto on Italy's eastern Adriatic coast.

Nibali came in 12th on the day with German racer Tony Martin of Omega Pharma winning the time-trial. Spanish Saxo Bank rider Alberto Contador - with Froome another contender for this year's Tour de France - was third overall at 52sec.

"I am really happy with this repeat victory as it is very valuable (given it was achieved) against renowned adversaries such as Contador, Froome and (Joaquin) Rodriguez," said 28-year-old Nibali, who gave up 26sec on the day to time trial world champion Tony Martin.

This latest success underlines his status as a favourite for the Tour of Italy, where he will be up against, among others, Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins.

Results from the seventh and final stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico, a 9.2km ride around San Benedetto del Tronto on Tuesday, and the final standings:


1. Tony Martin (GER/OPQ) 10min 25sec, 2. Adriano Malori (ITA/LAM) at 0:06, 3. Audrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 0:10, 4. Fabian Cancellara (SUI/RSH) 0:12, 5. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/MOV) 0:14, 6. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:15, 7. Hayden Roulston (NZL/RSH) 0:20, 8. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 0:21, 9. Dario Cataldo (ITA/SKY) 0:23, 10. Alex Dowsett (ENG/MOV) 0:23.

Overall standings

1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 28hr 08min 17sec, 2. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) at 0:23, 3. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) 0:52, 4. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 0:53, 5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:54, 6. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) 1:21, 7. Mauro Santambrogio (ITA/FAR) 2:03, 8. Audrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 2:42, 9. Przemyslaw Niemiec (POL/LAM) 3:19, 10. Wout Poels (NED/VAC) 3:35.

Read more on:    vincenzo nibali  |  chris froome  |  cycling

Porte retains Catalonia lead

2015-03-28 18:48


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.