Qhubeka names Euro riders

2012-12-03 17:49
Team MTN-Qhubeka (File)

Johannesburg - MTN Qhubeka has announced the riders it will base in Italy for the 2013 season, with their sights set on winning major races in the second division of world cycling.

"Our dream remains getting to the Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and developing an African world champion," team principal Douglas Ryder said on Monday.

The team is Africa’s first International Cycling Union (UCI) registered professional continental team, with a blend of African and European riders.

"This is an exciting development for African cycling that has been years in the making," said Ryder.

"We have 70 percent African riders and 30 percent from Europe and there is no other team in world cycling that has this composition."

Riders like Gerald Ciolek from Belgium, Spanish road cyclist Sergio Pardilla, Martin Reimer of Germany and Lithuanian Ignatas Konovalovas had joined the team to share their experience of racing professionally in Europe.

"We have taken some really good European riders to come on board with mentoring and fast track the riders to success. They’ve ridden these races many times before and will give the local riders advice about the races."

The team had set itself the target of claiming 10 UCI victories and 10 race wins to show what African cycling was capable of on the global stage.

Ryder said they would not neglect races in South Africa.

"We have a feeder team based in Potchefstroom and they will race 100 percent locally in South Africa."

Meanwhile, MTN South Africa's chief marketing officer Serame Taukobong said it was fully behind the team.

"MTN is pleased that the dream of having an African team competing on the international arena and the possibility of riding the Tour de France has now become a reality," Taukobong said.

"We aim to continue developing cycling talent in South Africa and the African continent and get riders that will take the baton from the current crop of cyclists and continue making waves internationally."

MTN Qhubeka Team: Gerald Ciolek, Martin Reimer, Andreas Stauff, Ignatas Konovalovas, Sergio Pardilla, Jay Thomson, Louis Meintjes, Johann Van Zyl, Songezo Jim, Bradley Potgieter, Dennis van Niekerk, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, Jaco Venter, Martin Wesemann, Youcef Reguigui, Kristian Sbaragli, Ferekalsi Debesay, Meron Russom, Jani Tewelde, Tsgabu Grmay, and Adrien Niyonshuti.

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.