International Cycling

Steegmans leads De Panne

2014-04-02 19:40
Sacha Modolo (AFP)

Koksijde - Italian Sacha Modolo has won a sprint finish on the second stage of the Three Days of De Panne race Wednesday as Belgian Gert Steegmans took over the leader's jersey.

Lampre's Modolo, 26, triumphed in a race to the line ahead of some distinguished company as Frenchman Arnaud Demare, second at last week's Gent-Wevelgem, was bridesmaid again with Milan-San Remo winner Alexander Kristoff third.

One rider who didn't see the end of the 206km stage from Zotegem to Koksijde was Slovakia's Peter Sagan, the "accidental" winner of Tuesday's opening stage.

Starting the day in the leader's jersey he pulled out early on to save himself for Sunday's Tour of Flanders, where he will be amongst the favourites alongside Swiss Fabian Cancellara and Tom Boonen of Belgium.

Steegmans earnt some bonus seconds on an intermediate sprint which was enough to give him a one second overall lead ahead of Italian Oscar Gatto, who was second to Cannondale team-mate Sagan on Tuesday, when the Slovak, acting as lead-out man in the sprint, failed to sit up in time to allow Gatto to pass him before the line.

The day's main breakaway consisted of 32 riders but were caught around 20km from home.

Three more riders -- Dutchman Niki Terpstra, Belgian Guillaume Van Keirsbulck and Gatto -- took the opportunity to launch a counter-attack but they too were caught 3km out.

Thursday's final day includes two stages: a straight 109.7km run to De Panne followed by a 14.3km time-trial.

Results and standings following Wednesday's 206km second stage of the Three Days of De Panne stage race from Zotegem to Koksijde.

1. Sacha Modolo (ITA/Lampre), 4hr 28min 15sec, 2. Arnaud Demare (FRA/FDJ) same time, 3. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/Katusha) s.t., 4. Ruslan Tleubayev (KAZ/Astana) s.t., 5. Danilo Napolitano (ITA/Wanty) s.t., 6. Daniele Colli (ITA/Neri Sottoli) s.t., 7. Alessandro Bazzana (ITA/UnitedHealthcare) s.t., 8. Marcel Kittel (GER/Giant-Shimano) s.t., 9. Kenneth Vanbilsen (BEL/Topsport) s.t., 10. Marco Canola (ITA/Bardiani) s.t.

Selected others:

12. Gert Steegmans (BEL/Omega Pharma) s.t.

Abandoned - Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale)

Overall standings:

1. Gert Steegmans (BEL/Omega Pharma) 8h57:45, 2. Oscar Gatto (ITA/Cannondale) at 1sec, 3. Kenneth Vanbilsen (BEL/Topsport) 3, 4. Niki Terpstra (NED/Omega Pharma) 5, 5. Mauro Finetto (ITA/Neri Sottoli) 9, 6. Vincent Jerome (BEL/Europcar) s.t., 7. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (BEL/Omega Pharma) s.t., 8. Arnaud Demare (FRA/FDJ) 14, 9. Luke Durbridge (AUS/Orica-GreeEdge) 20, 10. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/Katusha) 24

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.