International Cycling

Bakelants wins sixth stage

2014-06-13 16:24
Jan Bakelants (AFP Photo)

Poisy - Belgian Jan Bakelants, riding for Omega Pharma-Quick Step, won the sixth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Friday while overall leader Chris Froome recovered from a nasty crash to keep the yellow jersey.

Bakelants, 28 and a Tour de France yellow jersey holder for two stages last year, won a two-man sprint against Dutch time-trial champion Lieuwe Westra after the duo broke free of an escape group down the stretch.

The stage covered 178.5km from Grenoble to Poisy with third place going to Czech rider Zdenek Stybar, who won a sprint from a small group 24 seconds behind the leaders.

Froome, the defending Tour de France champion, came home with his jersey and shorts shredded after crashing with 7.5km to race.

He lost over a minute on the peloton but sportsmanship prevailed as main rival Alberto Contador and the rest of the pack waited for Froome to catch up.

The Kenyan-born British Sky rider had deep grazes and cuts across his back, shoulder, elbow and hip as he arrived over four minutes behind Bakelants.

With Saturday's decisive mountain stage on the penultimate day, Froome is certain to be attacked by Contador who lies 12 seconds back.

Also tied for second is Dutchman Wilco Kelderman who closed the gap on Contador during Thursday's fifth stage.


1. Jan Bakelants (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 4:07:20"
2. Lieuwe Westra (Netherlands / Astana) ST
3. Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +24"
4. Pim Ligthart (Netherlands / Lotto)
5. Jens Keukeleire (Belgium / Orica)
6. Jens Voigt (Germany / Trek)
7. Maciej Bodnar (Poland / Cannondale)
8. Bram Tankink (Netherlands / Belkin)
9. Valerio Conti (Italy / Lampre)
10. Julien Simon (France / Cofidis)


1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 23:12:15"
2. Alberto Contador (Spain / Tinkoff - Saxo) +12"
3. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin)
4. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Garmin) +33"
5. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Belgium / Lotto) +35"
6. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +50"
7. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / Trek) +1:22"
8. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana)
9. Adam Yates (Britain / Orica) +1:24"
10. Tanel Kangert (Estonia / Astana) +1:35"



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

All Blacks batter brave Tonga
Byrne: Israel Folau a 'freak'
As it happened: New Zealand 47-9 Tonga
England World Cup coaches barred
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.