Goss wins crash-marred stage

2012-05-07 16:28
Matthew Goss (AFP)

Copenhagen - Matthew Goss of Australia won the third stage of the Giro d'Italia over 190km around Horsens in Denmark on Monday in a sprint finish.

Sprint favourite Mark Cavendish and overall leader Taylor Phinney both went down in a crash about a hundred metres from the line.

Juan Jose Haedo took second place in the sprint, ahead of American Tyler Farrar.

But it was just behind them that the major drama took place, with Italian Roberto Ferrari veering wildly to his right and cutting across Cavendish's path.

The British Team Sky leader could not avoid the Italian and clipped Ferrari's back wheel before crashing and taking down several riders, including the man in the pink jersey.

World champion Cavendish managed to get up and walk over the line carrying his bike but with his jersey badly torn.

Phinney stayed down for a long time and seemed to have an ankle problem but he too crossed the line and held on to the leader's jersey.

Race rules deem that if a rider goes down in a group crash in the final three kilometres, he is given the same time as the peloton.

However, it remains to be seen if Phinney will be able to continue on Wednesday when the race restarts in Italy following Tuesday's rest day.

Provisional result and overall standings after the 190km third stage of the Giro d'Italia starting and finishing in Horsens, Denmark on Monday:

1. Matthew Goss (Australia / Orica) 4hrs 20mins 53secs 2. Juan Jose Haedo (Argentina / Saxo Bank) same time 3. Tyler Farrar (U.S. / Garmin) 4. Arnaud Demare (France / FDJ) 5. Mark Renshaw (Australia / Rabobank) 6. Thor Hushovd (Norway / BMC Racing) 7. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha) 8. Romain Feillu (France / Vacansoleil) 9. Roberto Ferrari (Italy / Androni Giocattoli) 10. Fumiyuki Beppu (Japan / Orica)

Overall standings:

1. Taylor Phinney (U.S. / BMC Racing) 9hrs 24mins 31secs 2. Geraint Thomas (Britain / Team Sky) +9" 3. Alex Rasmussen (Denmark / Garmin) +13" 4. Manuele Boaro (Italy / Saxo Bank) +15" 5. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania / Garmin) +18" 6. Gustav Larsson (Sweden / Vacansoleil) +22" 7. Brett Lancaster (Australia / Orica) +23" 8. Matthew Goss (Australia / Orica) 9. Marco Pinotti (Italy / BMC Racing) +24" 10. Jesse Sergent (New Zealand / RadioShack) +26"

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  matthew goss  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.