Gilbert wins road race title

2012-09-23 17:41
Philippe Gilbert (AP)

Valkenburg - Belgian rider Philippe Gilbert won the men's cycling world road race title for the first time on Sunday.

The 30-year-old, who last year became only the second rider to win all three Ardennes one day classics in the same season, broke away on the final climb to come home clear of Norwegian Edvald Boasson Hagen while Alejandro Valverde of Spain took the bronze.

Spain's two-time Tour de France champion, and recent Tour of Spain winner Alberto Contador, had livened up the race with 81km of the 267km race distance to go, breaking away with a group including France's leading hope Thomas Voeckler.

The Belgian team, though, led the pursuing pack and reeled them in at the 233km mark.

Various riders made breaks without being able to build up a large enough lead before Gilbert, who had never even won a medal in the race, made his break on the final climb of the Cauberg.

None of the pursuing riders were able to orchestrate a co-ordinated counter attack and the Belgian, who had warmed up for the race with two stage wins in the Tour of Spain, was able to start his race celebrations well before the finishing line.

British rider Mark Cavendish's defence of his title ended in disappointing fashion as he retired from the race with 111km to go.

The 27-year-old had not been expected to be a contender for the title this time round as the undulating 267km course was less suited to his talents than the one he won on in Copenhagen last year.

Cavendish, who last year became the first British rider since the late Tom Simpson in 1965 to win the world title, had set the pace on several occasions at the head of the peloton before finally giving up.

He was joined on the sidelines later in the race by Tour de France and Olympic time-trial champion champion Bradley Wiggins and Tour de France runner-up and Olympic time-trial bronze medallist Chris Froome, both exhausted from their long seasons.

Cycling world road championship winners after the final day on Sunday:


Road race: Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
Time-trial: Tony Martin (GER)
Under-23 road race: Alexei Lutsenko (KAZ)
Under-23 time-trial: Anton Vorobyev (RUS)
Juniors road race: Matej Mohoric (SLO)
Juniors time-trial: Oskar Svendsen (NOR)


Road race: Marianne Vos (NED)
Time-trial: Judith Arndt (GER)
Juniors road race: Lucy Garner (GBR)
Juniors time-trial: Elinor Barker (GBR)

Read more on:    philippe gilbert  |  cycling

Porte retains Catalonia lead

2015-03-28 18:48


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.