Gilbert wins 9th Vuelta stage

2012-08-26 18:09
Philippe Gilbert (File)

Barcelona - Belgium's Philippe Gilbert claimed the Spanish Vuelta's ninth stage here on Sunday, with local hope Joaquim Rodriguez retaining possession of the overall leader's red jersey.

Gilbert prevailed in a dash for the line, with Rodriguez in second and Italian Paolo Tiralongo taking third at the end of a taxing 196.3km run from Andorra, the longest stage in this year's Vuelta.

The in-form Catalan-born Rodriguez was looking good for the stage win before being joined and eventually beaten by Gilbert.

But he will have been pleased with his day's work as he extended his cushion in the overall standings over his main rivals for outright victory.

He now leads Team Sky's Chris Froome by 53sec, with former winner Alberto Contador one minute adrift.

Alejandro Valverde, who picked up his third stage win in this year's Tour on Saturday, is 1min 7sec adrift in fourth.

Sunday's run from Andorra to the Catalan capital was marked by an early four-man breakaway comprising Martijn Maaskat (Garmin), Bert Lindeman (Vacansoleil), Mickael Buffaz (Cofidis) and Javier Chacon (Andalucia).

The quartet built up a five-minute gap at one point before being caught by the peloton 25km from the finish.

The riders have a rest day on Monday before the action resumes with Tuesday's 190km 10th stage between Ponteareas and Sanxenxo.

Results Sunday from the ninth stage of the 67th Spanish Vuelta, a 196.3km ride from Andorra to the Montjuic Olympic Park in Barcelona:

1. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, BMC Racing, 4 hours, 45 minutes, 28 seconds.
2. Joaquin Rodriguez, Spain, Katusha, same time.
3. Paolo Tiralongo, Italy, Astana, 7 seconds behind.
4. Tomasz Marczynski, Poland, Vacansoleil-DCM, :09.
5. Daniele Bennati, Italy, Radioshack-Nissan, same time.
6. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Movistar, same time.
7. Nacer Bouhanni, France, FDJ-Big Mat, same time.
8. Gorka Verdugo, Spain, Eukaltel-Euskadi, :12.
9. Gianni Meersman, Belgium, Lotto Belisol, same time.
10. Igor Anton, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, same time.

Overall Standings (After 9 of 21 stages):

1. Joaquin Rodriguez, Spain, Katusha, 34 hours, 44 minutes, 55 seconds.
2. Christopher Froome, Britain, Team Sky, 53 seconds behind.
3. Alberto Contador, Spain, SaxoBank, 1:00.
4. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Movistar, 1:07.
5. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Rabobank, 2:01.
6. Daniel Moreno, Spain, Katusha, 2:08.
7. Nicolas Roche, Ireland, Ag2r La Mondiale, 2:34.
8. Igor Anton, Spain, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 3:07.
9. Laurens ten Dam, Netherlands, Rabobank, 3:18.
10. Bauke Mollema, Netherlands, Rabobank, 3:27.

Read more on:    spanish vuelta  |  philippe gilbert  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.