Gavazzi wins dramatic stage

2012-10-11 15:19
Francesco Gavazzi (AFP)

Beijing - Francesco Gavazzi won the third stage of the Tour of Beijing in dramatic style on Thursday, but the Italian remained in second place overall behind last year's champion Tony Martin.

Gavazzi, who races for Astana Pro Team, burst through in the final minutes of the race to overtake Edvald Boasson-Hagen and Dan Martin on the finishing line.

Boasson-Hagen had made a bold sprint for victory with just 4km remaining but the Norwegian could not maintain his lead over the chasing pack in the crucial final moments of the race.

Martin then took the initiative and briefly led on the final dash for the finishing line, but it was Gavazzi who timed his sprint to perfection and claimed victory in the 162.5km race in just over four hours.

Gavazzi's victory shaved just 10 seconds off Tony Martin's overall lead of 50 seconds coming into Thursday's race.

Martin, who races for Omega Pharma-QuickStep, won the second stage on Wednesday after dominating for most of the race and cruising across the line with a huge lead of 46 seconds.

With just two races remaining in the five-day tour, the 27-year-old German, who took silver in the men's individual time trial at the Olympics this year, remains in a commanding position to retain the title he won last year at China's first World Tour calendar event.

Thursday's race was staged from China's hilly western suburbs to the Great Wall at Badaling, probably the most visited section of the wall.

The Tour of Beijing is the final event of the season.

Results from the third stage of the Tour of Beijing on Thursday:

1. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana Pro Team) 4hr 05min 08sec, 2. Daniel Martin (IRl/Garmin-Sharp) same time, 3. Edvald Boasson-Hagen (NOR/Sky Procycling) same time, 4. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA/AG2R La Mondiale) same time, 5. Rui Alberto Costa (POR/Movistar Team) same time, 6. Tom Jelte Slagter (NED/Rabobank Cycling Team) same time, 7. Eros Capecchi (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) same time, 8. Moreno Moser (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) same time, 9. Mathias Frank (SUI/BMC Racing Team) same time, 10. Daniele Pietropolli (ITA/Lampre - ISD) same time

Overall classification after stage three:

1. Tony Martin (GER/Omega Pharma-QuickStep) 9hr 35min 52secs, 2. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana Pro Team) at 40 secs, 3. Daniel Martin (IRl/Garmin-Sharp) at 50 secs, 4. Edvald Boasson-Hagen (NOR/Sky Procycling) at 52 secs, 5. Eros Capecchi (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) at 52 secs, 6. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA/AG2R La Mondiale) at 56 secs, 7. Tomasz Marczynski (POL/Vacansoleil - DCM Procycling) at 56, 8. Rafal Majka (POL/Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) at 56, 9. Rui Alberto Costa (POR/Movistar Team) at 1-00, 10. Tim Wellens (BEL/Lotto-Belisol Team) at 1-00

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.