Froome wins Tour of Oman

2013-02-16 14:18
Chris Froome (AFP Photo)

Boshar - Chris Froome of Britain won the Tour of Oman on Saturday, last year's Tour de France runner-up beating two previous winners of cycling's blue riband, Alberto Contador and Cadel Evans.

The Sky star, who took possession of the leader's red jersey on Thursday, had a 27 second advantage over Spain's Contador in the overall standings with Australia's Evans 39s away in third.

Saturday's sixth and final stage, a 144km ride from Hawit Nagam park in the south of the emirate to Muscat along the Matrah corniche, was won by France's Nacer Bouhanni.

He finished clear in a sprint from Australia's Matthew Goss and USA rider Taylor Phinney.

"It's been an incredibly successful week for us this week. The team has rallied around me all the way and having guys of the calibre of Bradley Wiggins helping you to win a race makes it a hell of a lot easier to be up there when the going gets tough," said Froome.

"This is still very early days at the moment and early on in the season. This was a preparation event and a good test to see how the winter training has gone so far.

"I'm quite confident that I'm on track at the moment and right where I need to be with my preparations in view of being ready at 100 percent for the Tour de France."

Results after the sixth and final stage of the Tour of Oman on Saturday, a 144 kilometre stage from Hawit Nagam park to Muscat:


1. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/FDJ) 3hr 24min 20sec, 2. Matthew Goss (AUS) s.t., 3. Taylor Phinney (USA) s.t., 4. Elia Viviani (ITA) s.t., 5. Borut Bozic (SLO) s.t., 6. Daryl Impey (RSA) s.t., 7. Tom Boonen (BEL) s.t., 8. Danny Van Poppel (NED) s.t., 9. Blaz Jarc (SLO) s.t., 10. Marco Coledan (ITA) s.t.


18. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t., 31. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t., 51. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t., 58. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) s.t., 81. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) at 38, 126. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 4:00.

Overall standings

1. Christopher Froome (GBR/Sky) 23hr 28min 33sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP) at 27s, 3. Cadel Evans (AUS) 39, 4. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) 50, 5. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA) 1:13, 6. Johann Tschopp (SUI) s.t, 7. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) 1:19, 8. Kenny Elissonde (FRA) 1:34, 9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) 1:44, 10. Maxime Bouet (FRA) 1:57.


21. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) 3:04, 42. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 11:46, 68. Taylor Phinney (USA) 19:30, 74. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 22:46, 83. Tom Boonen (BEL) 26:17


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.