Bradley Wiggins wins Dauphine

2011-06-12 17:24
Bradley Wiggins (File)
La Toussuire - Bradley Wiggins became the third Briton to win the Criterium du Dauphine after Spain's Joaquin Rodriguez took the final 117.5k stage beween Pontcharra and La Toussuire on Sunday.

The Team Sky rider, who is a triple Olympic gold medallist and came fourth in the Tour de France two years ago, finished 1min 26sec ahead of the Australian Cadel Evans (BMC) in the overall standings with the Kazakh Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) another 23 seconds back.

The Belgian Jurgen Van den Broeck (Omega-Lotto) took fourth in front of Katusha rider Rodriguez and the Frenchman Christophe Kerne (EUC) who won Friday's stage.

The 31-year-old Wiggins follows in the footsteps of Brian Robinson in 1961 and Robert Millar in 1990 as the only British winners of this traditional Tour de France warm-up race.

In the final stage, a relatively short but mountainous stretch that includes the climbs of Glandon and La Toussuire, Rodriguez produced a stunning final kick to claim his second victory in two days.

The Spaniard spun off in the final km to finish eight seconds clear of rising French hope Thibault Pinot (FDJ) and Dutchman Robert Gesink (Rabobank).

The 21-year-old Pinot had made the early breakaway before being caught by Thomas Voeckler (EUC). He began the final climb less than a minute ahead of Gesink who was heading the first chasing group.

Pinot, Gesink and Voeckler were later joined by the Dane Chris Sorensen (SBS) but they were caught by Rodriguez with under a km to go.

Criterium du Dauphine results on Sunday after the seventh and final stage, a 117.5km ride between Pontcharra and La Toussuire:


1. Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver, Spain, Katusha, 3 hours, 24 minutes, 30 seconds.

2. Thibaut Pinot, France, FDJ, 7 seconds behind.

3. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Rabobank, same time.

4. Jurgen Van Den Broeck, Belgium, Omega Pharma -Lotto, same time.

5. Alexandre Vinokourov, Kazakhstan, Astana, same time.

6. Chris Sorensen, Denmark, Saxo Bank, :10.

7. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, same time.

8. Kanstantsin Sivtsov, Belarus, HTC-Highroad, same time.

9. Janez Brajkovic, Slovenia, RadioShack, same time.

10. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky, same time.

Overall Standings (After 7 of 7 stages)

1. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky, 26 hours, 40 minutes, 51 seconds.

2. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC, 1:26 behind

3. Alexandre Vinokourov, Kazakhstan, Astana, 1:49

4. Jurgen Van Den Broeck, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, 2:10

5. Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver, Spain, Katusha, 2:51

6. Christophe Kern, France, Europcar, 3:05

7. Jean-Christophe Peraud, France, AG2R La Mondiale, 3:30

8. Kanstantsin Sivtsov, Belarus, HTC-Highroad, 4:14

9. Janez Brajkovic, Slovenia, RadioShack, 4:22

10. Thomas Voeckler, France, Europcar, 4:31


Porte retains Catalonia lead

2015-03-28 18:48


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.