Zim runners on song in CT

2012-09-23 13:55
Runners (File)

Cape Town - Zimbabweans dominated the Cape Town Marathon on Sunday morning, with Gilbert Mutandiro and debutant Alicen Manake clinching the respective men's and women's titles.

The diminutive Mutandiro, who was fourth last year, was not entirely pleased with his winning time of two hours, 19 minutes, 16 seconds (2:19:16) in cold and wet conditions.

"It was tough. The wind made it impossible to get the 2:17 I had hoped for," Mutandiro said.

The men's lead group, running conservatively to combat the poor conditions, went through halfway in 70 minutes.

"The early pace was quite slow but at 25km I decided to move," Mutandiro said.

"Mike (Fokoroni) and a couple of guys came with me.

"After 35km I pushed again, but it was hard to the finish."

South African Lungile Gongqa finished 30m adrift in 2:19:23 and Zimbabwean Fokoroni was third, nearly two minutes further back, in 2:21:04.

Mutandiro said he had used the race as part of his build-up to the Macau Marathon in China in December.

"I was training for the London Olympics but I picked up an injury, so I changed to the Cape Town Marathon," he said.

"I will also enter the Two Oceans (56km ultra-marathon in April), so this is good preparation."

Manake, running her first marathon, won comfortably in 2:51:36, having dominated the women's race from the start.

"I very pleased with the run, but I don't have plans to do another (marathon) at present," Manake said.

Local athlete Nomvuyisi Seti was a little under five minutes behind at the finish, taking second place in 2:56:31, with fellow South African Cary Ann Smith taking third in a personal best of 2:57:37.

Only 36 seconds separated the top five runners in the men's 10km race, which was won by Xolisa Tyali in 29 minutes, 40 seconds (29:40).

Tyali edged out Sibusiso Madikizela by seven seconds.

Nolene Conrad crossed the line first in the women's race in 34:31, easily holding off Namibian Lavina Haltope to win by 41 seconds.

Results of the Cape Town Marathon held on Sunday morning:

42km: Men: 1 Gilbert Mutandiro 2:19:16, 2 Lungile Gongqwa 2:19:23, 3 Mike Fokoroni 2:21:04, 4 Pumlani Nxusani 2:21:46, 5 Abongile Snyman 2:24:39, 6 Siyabonga Makhaluza 2:27:33, 7 Paulus Ilyambo 2:27:46, 8 Hein Camphor 2:30:21, 9 Oupa Maseko 2:32:14, 10 Luyanda Mapoyi 2:32:31

Women: 1 Alicen Manake 2:51:37, 2 Nomvuyisi Seti 2:56:31, 3 Cary-Ann Smith 2:57:37, 4 Ndeshimona Ekandjo 2:58:59, 5 Ursula Frans 3:01:10, 6 Debbie Perry3:04:18, 7 Bulelwa Mtshayi 3:06:24, 8 Candyce Hall 3:14:23, 9 Gillian Seiling 3:14:28, 10 Ursula Turck 3:15:07

10km: Men: 1 Xolisa Tyali 29:40, 2 Sibusiso Madikizela 29:47, 3 Sityhilo Diko 30:01, 4 Nkosinathi Madyo 30:06, 5 Kristof Shaanika 30:16, 6 Awonke Bungi 31:09, 7 Luyanda Qolo 31:15, 8 Godwin Swartz 31:17, 9 Ricardo Jaftha 31:17, 10 Nkosinathi Sotyantya 31:18

Women: 1 Nolene Conrad 34:27, 2 Lavinia Haltope 35:14, 3 Zintle Xiniwe 35:56, 4 Bulelwa Simae 38:13, 5 Busisiwe Matiwane 40:13, 6 Keelyn van Breda 40:41, 7 Heleen van der Walt Nicholl 40:58, 8 Sandra van Graan 41:16, 9 Kelley Hess 41:32, 10 Sheryl de Lange 41:37

Read more on:    cape town marathon  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.