South African Athletics

Presidential honour awaits Wayde van Niekerk

2017-04-19 22:26

Cape Town - South African sprinter Wayde van Niekerk is set to receive a National Order award from President Jacob Zuma.

According to the recently published Government Gazette, Van Niekerk will be awarded with the Order of Ikhamanga.

He is the sole recipient for this award in the Category 1: Gold.

Van Niekerk made history at the 2016 Rio Olympics when he won a gold medal in the men’s 400m.

He broke American Michael Johnson's long-standing one-lap record, crossing the line in 43.03 seconds.

Meanwhile, the rowing quartet of Matthew Brittain, Sizwe Ndlovu, John Smith and James Thompson - who won gold in the men’s lightweight coxless four event at the 2012 London Olympics - will also be rewarded for their achievements in the Category II: Silver.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.