Oscar scoops athletics award

2013-02-18 16:17
Oscar Pistorius (AP)
Cape Town - Two days after Oscar Pistorius's alleged murder of girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp, he was named Athletics Gauteng North's (AGN) male athlete of the year in track and field.

Athletics Gauteng North awarded the country's top athletes at the annual SPAR AGN awards in Pretoria on Saturday night.

Pistorius has been in police custody since Thursday after his 29-year-old model girlfriend Steenkamp was shot and killed in his Pretoria home. He has been charged with murder and is due to appear in court on Tuesday for a formal bail application.

The awards, which took place at The Manhattan Hotel, is an annual event that is undoubtedly a highlight on the calendars of South Africa's top athletes.

There were 17 different awards handed out at the ceremony, celebrating athletes in their respective fields such as cross country, race walking, road running and track and field. As always, the most coveted awards of the night were best male athlete of the year, best female athlete of the year, most promising athlete, coach of the year, best technical official and best administrator.

Caster Semenya scooped the best female athlete award and Stephen Mokoka best male athlete, while Lehann Fourie got the award for most promising athlete in the track and field category.

2013 AGN award winners:

Race Walking Most promising Athlete of the Year: Mariaan Serdyn
Race Walking Female Athlete of the Year: Elsa Meyer
Race Walking Male Athlete of the year: Marc Mundell
Track & Field Most promising Athlete of the Year: Lehann Fourie
Track & Field Female Athlete of the Year: Caster Semenya
Track & Field Male Athlete of the Year: Oscar Pistorius
Cross Country Most promising Athlete of the Year: Kyla van Graan
Cross Country Female Athlete of the Year: Anyslee van Graan
Cross Country Male Athlete of the Year: Stephen Mokoka
Road Running Most promising Athlete of the Year: Olivia Labuschagne
Road Running Female Athlete of the Year: Charne Bosman
Road Running Male Athlete of the Year: Stephen Mokoka
Coach of the Year: Michael Seme
Technical Official of the Year: Sipho Shawe
Administrator of the Year: Japie Venter
Overall Female Athlete of the Year: Caster Semenya
Overall  Male Athlete of the Year: Stephen Mokoka

Read more on:    oscar pistorius  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.