Kipsang wins London Marathon

2012-04-22 13:10
Wilson Kipsang (File)
London - Kenya's Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany won the men's and women's events respectively in the London Marathon here on Sunday as the African nation dominated the podium places in the elite races.

Kipsang, the second fastest man of all time, went clear of a class field in the closing stages and won in an unofficial time of two hours, four minutes and 44 seconds - just four seconds outside the course record set by compatriot Emmanuel Mutai in winning last year's race.

He finished more than two minutes in front of compatriot Martin Lel, who overtook fellow former London champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia with a strong sprint finish to serve notice of his credentials ahead of the Olympic Marathon in London in a few months' time.

Kebede may have prevented a Kenyan clean sweep in his race but in the women's event Mary Keitany successfully defended the title she won last year to lead home a Kenyan 1-2-3.

She left an outstanding field trailing to win in an unofficial time of 2:18:36, a new Kenyan national record and a personal best - well inside her time of 2:19:19 in which she won last year's London Marathon.

World champion Edna Kiplagat finished second, more than a minute behind, with world silver medallist Priscah Jeptoo a further 24 seconds behind in third.

There was success for Britain in the wheelchair races with Dave Weir and Shelly Woods ensuring a home double.

Weir timed his finish to perfection to see off the challenge of Switzerland's Marcel Hug and so win his sixth London title while Woods overpowered her rivals to claim a second London victory of her career, finishing nearly four minutes ahead of Japan's Wakako Tsuchida.

Leading finishers in the 2012 London Marathon on Sunday:


1. Wilson Kipsang (KEN) 2 hours, 4 minutes and 44 seconds, 2. Martin Lel (KEN) 2:06:51, 3. Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) 2:06:52, 4. Adil Annani (MAR) 2:07:43, 5. Jaouad Gharib (MAR) 2:07:44, 6. Abel Kirui (KEN) 2:07:56, 7. Emmanuel Mutai (KEN) 2:08:01, 8. Marilson Gomes dos Santo (BRA) 2:08:03


1. Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:18.37, 2. Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:19:50, 3. Priscah Jeptoo (KEN) 2:20:14, 4. Florence Kiplagat (KEN) 2:20.57, 5. Lucy Kabuu (KEN) 2:23:12, 6. Aberu Kebede (ETH) 2:24:04, 7. Irina Mikitenko (GER) 2:24:53, 8. Jessica Augusto (POR) 2:24:59



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

LIVE: Argentina v Tonga
Du Preez key to Boks' success
Meyer: 'We are at our best when written off'
Heyneke unveils his USA plan
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.