IAAF creates Hall of Fame

2012-03-08 14:14
Carl Lewis (AFP)

Istanbul - The IAAF has created a Hall of Fame that includes Jesse Owens, Carl Lewis and Fanny Blankers-Koen among the first 12 inductees.

The Hall of Fame, which marks the 100-year anniversary of the IAAF, will have an inaugural class of 24 athletes. The remaining 12 inductees will be announced later in the year but before the IAAF Centenary Gala on November 24 in Barcelona.

The IAAF says criteria for induction include winning at least two Olympic or world championship gold medals and setting at least one world record. Also, athletes must be retired for 10 years before becoming eligible.

The other inductees are Abebe Bikila, Paavo Nurmi, Emil Zatopek, Al Oerter, Adhemar da Silva, Ed Moses, Betty Cuthbert, Jackie Joyner-Kersee and Wang Junxia.

Read more on:    carl lewis

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

How much of a runner are you?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.