Ethiopians dominate in Chicago

2012-10-07 19:32
Tsegaye Kebede (AP)

Chicago - Tsegaye Kebede became the first Ethiopian man to win the Chicago Marathon by capturing Sunday's 35th edition in a course record, with compatriot Atsede Baysa taking the women's title by a stride.

Kebede surged in the final mile to win in 2:04.38 and defeat countryman Feyisa Lilesa by 14 seconds, with Tilahun Regassa third in 2:05:26 on his marathon debut to complete an Ethiopian men's podium sweep.

"This is a great day for us, for Ethiopia especially," Kebede said.

Kebede's victory snapped a run of consecutive Chicago victories by Kenyan men at nine.

The former men's course mark was 2:05:37 last year by Kenyan Moses Mosop.

In a women's duel in doubt until the last second, Ethiopia's Baysa edged Kenya's Rita Jeptoo, the 2006 Boston Marathon winner, at the finish line.

Baysa was given an official time of 2:22:03, a personal best by one second, with Jeptoo second at 2:22:04 and Kenya's Lucy Kabuu third, 38 seconds adrift.

"I came to win this race," Baysa said. "When I came upon the finish line, I knew I won."

Each champion received $100 000 for the victory, while Kebede took an extra $50 ,000 for setting a course record and Baysa won a $10 000 bonus for her time.

Liliya Shobukhova failed in her bid for a fourth Chicago Marathon title in a row, the 34-year-old Russian settling for fourth, 56 seconds off the pace.

"It just gives me some perspective, just take one step back and go for it again," Shobukhova said.

Russia's Maria Konovolova led early and Shobukhova was in front at halfway but the lead pack began to surge after 20 miles and Shobukhova fell off the pace.

Shobukhova was unable to finish the London Olympic marathon because of stomach cramps and has been nagged by hamstring injuries this year, but won the 2011 event in 2:18:20.

Kebede, third at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, moved to the front of the lead pack after 30 kilometers and by the 35km mark he was out with Regassa and Lilesa, who was third at last year's world championships.

Once Regassa slowed in the 23rd mile, it was a two-man show.

Both leaders ran under 2:05:00 for the first time in their careers, but 2010 Chicago runner-up Kebede pulled away from Lilesa in the last half mile for the victory.

Kenya's Sammy Kitwara was fourth, with countryman Wesley Korir, last year's Chicago runner-up and this year's Boston Marathon champion, in fifth.

Top finishers from Sunday's Chicago Marathon:


1. Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) 2 hrs 04 mins 38 secs, 2. Feyisa Lilesa (ETH) 2:04:52, 3. Tilahun Regassa (ETH) 2:05:27, 4. Sammy Kitwara (KEN) 2:05:54, 5. Wesley Korir (KEN) 2:06:13, 6. Bernard Kipyego (KEN) 2:06:40, 7. Samuel Ndungu (KEN) 2:07:26, 8. Dadi Yami (ETH) 2:07:43, 9. Dathan Ritzenhein (USA) 2:07:47, 10. Shami Dawit (ETH) 2:08:39


1. Atsede Baysa (ETH) 2:22:03, 2. Rita Jeptoo (KEN) 2:22:04, 3. Lucy Kabuu (KEN) 2:22:41, 4. Liliya Shobukhova (RUS) 2:22:59, 5. Caroline Rotich (KEN) 2:23:22, 6. Maria Konovalova (RUS) 2:25:38, 7. Fatuma Sado (ETH) 2:26:09, 8. Renee Metivier Baillie (USA) 2:27:17, 9. Dot McMahan (USA) 2:32:11, 10. Stephanie Pezzullo (USA) 2:32:42

Read more on:    athletics

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Patriotism aside, who do you feel deserved to win the 2017 Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.