Luthi pips Bradl to win Moto2

2011-10-23 14:00
Thomas Luthi (AP)

Sepang - Swiss rider Thomas Luthi claimed his first Moto2 win in Malaysia after a tense battle with championship leader Stefan Bradl on Sunday, meaning the title goes down to the last race.

Luthi, who started from pole position on a Suter, was in top form around the 5.5-km (3.4-mile) Sepang circuit, the 25-year-old finishing in 36 minutes 35.114 seconds.

It was tough on Bradl, who led for 16 of the 17 laps but eventually came home second, 0.187 seconds slower. A victory for the German would have allowed him to seal the title ahead of the final round at Valencia.

Pol Espargaro of Spain on an FTR was third, while San Marino's Alex de Angelis was fourth.

Bradl's second-place finish saw him increase his lead at the top of the Moto2 championship with 274 points.

Spaniard Marc Marquez, still in pain after crashing on an unflagged wet area in Friday's practice, did not race after he failed a medical. He is just about still in the hunt with 251 points.

Results on Sunday for Moto GP's Malaysian Grand Prix on the Sepang International Circuit with driver, country, make of motorcycle and time:


1. Thomas Luthi, Switzerland, Suter, 36 minutes, 35.114 seconds.
2. Stefan Bradl, Germany, Kalex, 36:35.301.
3. Pol Espargaro, Spain, FTR, 36:42.579.
4. Alex de Angelis, Republic of San Marino, Motobi, 36:44.241.
5. Dominique Aegerter, Switzerland, Suter, 36:46.608.
6. Mika Kallio, Finland, Suter, 36:47.017.
7. Michele Pirro, Italy, Moriwaki, 36:47.682.
8. Aleix Espargaro, Spain, Kalex, 36:48.077.
9. Andrea Iannone, Italy, Suter, 36:49.212.
10. Scott Redding, Great Britain, Suter, 36:51.811.
World Standings (after 16 of 17 rounds)
1. Stefan Bradl, Germany, Kalex, 274 points.
2. Marc Marquez, Spain, Suter, 251.
3. Andrea Iannone, Italy, Suter, 172.
4. Alex de Angelis, Republic of San Marino, Motobi, 170.
5. Thomas Luthi, Switzerland, Suter, 151.


1. Maverick Vinales, Spain, Aprilia, 40 minutes, 34.280 seconds.
2. Sandro Cortese, Germany, Aprilia, 40:34.634.
3. Johann Zarco, France, Derbi, 40:36.735.
4. Hector Faubel, Spain, Aprilia, 40:37.201.
5. Nicolas Terol, Spain, Aprilia, 40:44.329.
6. Jonas Folger, Germany, Aprilia, 40:52.244.
7. Zulfahmi Khairuddin, Malaysia, Derbi, 41:12.986.
8. Jakub Kornfeil, Czech Republic, Aprilia, 41:13.379.
9. Alberto Moncayo, Spain, Aprilia, 41:13.503.
10. Danny Kent, Great Britain, Aprilia, 41:14.517.
World Standings (after 16 of 17 rounds)
1. Nicolas Terol, Spain, Aprilia, 282 points.
2. Johann Zarco, France, Derbi, 262.
3. Sandro Cortese, Germany, Aprilia, 225.
4. Maverick Vinales, Spain, Aprilia, 223.
5. Hector Faubel, Spain, Aprilia, 161.1.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.