Loeb wins Rally of New Zealand

2012-06-24 12:38
Sebastien Loeb (File)

Auckland - Frenchman Sebastien Loeb won the Rally of New Zealand Sunday to extend his lead at the top of the World Rally Championship to 38 points.

The eight-time defending world champion finished 29.6 seconds ahead of Citroen teammate Mikko Hirvonen to secure his third Rally New Zealand title after winning in 2005 and 2008.

It was Loeb's fifth win in seven rounds of this year's championship and the 72nd of a stellar career in which he has monopolised the world title for the past eight years in a row.

Loeb entered the final day with a 6.4 second lead over Hirvonen and the Citroen drivers were under orders to take no risks in the wet conditions to ensure a one-two finish for the French car manufacturer.

"It's been a long weekend and my driving has not been perfect," Loeb said.

"We made a few mistakes in the closing power stage, when we were pushing too hard but the most important thing is that we have won."

Norway's Petter Solberg came third in the fastest of the Fords and said he could have finished higher if not for a mistake in tyre selection on the opening day Friday.

"We came here to win but a third place is still good so we must be happy with that," he said. "The team and the car is fantastic, but we just need to keep going and hopefully one day soon a win will follow."

Solberg's teammate Jari-Matti Latvala qualified fastest but had to settle for seventh after crashing into a fence on day one.

The major drama on the final day came when Ott Tanak of Estonia rolled his Ford during the 22nd special stage. He was unharmed but had to retire from the race.

Results Sunday after the final day of the Rally New Zealand, the seventh round of the World Rally Championship:

1. Sebastien Loeb (FRA/Citroen DS3) 4hr 04min 51.2sec, 2. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN/Citroen DS3) at 29.6s, 3. Petter Solberg (NOR/Ford Fiesta) 1min 36.4s, 4. Evgeny Novikov (RUS/Ford Fiesta) 2:13.6, 5. Thierry Neuville (BEL/Citroen DS3) 2:42.4, 6. Dani Sordo (ESP/Mini) 3:03.1, 7. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN/Ford Fiesta) 4:52.9, 8. Armindo Araujo (POR/Mini) 9:36.4, 9. Ken Block (USA/Ford Fiesta) 10:30.3, 10. Manfred Stohl (AUT/Ford Fiesta) 11:26.3.

Stage winners

Loeb 7 (SS3, SS4, SS5, SS7, SS8, SS12, SS13), Latvala 5 (SS1, SS10, SS14, SS21, SS22), Hirvonen 3 (SS2, SS6, SS15), Neuville 3 (SS16, SS17, SS20), Solberg 2 (SS9, SS11), Sordo 2 (SS18, SS19).

Overall standings:

Drivers' championship

1. Sebastien Loeb (FRA) 145 pts, 2. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) 107, 3. Petter Solberg (NOR) 90, 4. Mads Ostberg (NOR) 80, 5. Evgeny Novikov (RUS) 55, 6. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) 54, 7. Martin Prokop (CZE) 36, 8. Thierry Neuville (BEL) 32, 9. Dani Sordo (ESP) 29, 10. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) 23

Constructors standings

1. Citroen Racing 237 pts 2. Ford 141 3. M-Sport (Ford) 103 4. Qatar WRT (Citroen) 47 5. Citroen Junior Team 42 6. Adapta WRT (Ford) 27 7. Prodrive WRC (Mini) 26 8. Brazil WRT (Mini) 16

Read more on:    sebastien loeb  |  rallying  |  motorsport


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.