Loeb on top in Monte Carlo

2013-01-16 20:14
Sebastien Loeb (AFP)

Monte Carlo - The world rally championship ushered in a new era on snowy mountain roads around Monte Carlo on Wednesday with erratic timing systems causing confusion but Citroen's Sebastien Loeb leading the way as usual.

Although the Frenchman is not challenging for an astonishing 10th title in a row, he has made clear that he still wants to win the four rounds of the 13-event championship that he is contesting.

The official website said the times for the day's third stage were under review after "possible communications issues" that indicated gaps of several minutes between the drivers and left the teams as uncertain as rally fans.

The times available also showed Loeb with a surprisingly large lead of nearly three minutes over Russian Evgeny Novikov in a Ford.

Loeb announced last September that he would not be defending his title, leaving the road open to Finnish team-mate Mikko Hirvonen to become Citroen's lead driver.

"The goal is not the same, but the preparation for the rally is the same," the 38-year-old Loeb had said before Wednesday's start.

"If I am able to fight for victory, I will try to do it. But if not, it's not as bad as in the past. I am here for fun and in these conditions... it will be fun."

Compatriot Sebastien Ogier claimed the day's opening stage over winding roads and in sub-zero temperatures from Le Moulinon, south-west of Valence, to Antraigues.

The win gave his Volkswagen team the perfect start to their championship campaign.

Standings after the opening four specials in the world championship season-opening Monte Carlo Rally on Wednesday:

1. Sebastien Loeb (FRA/Citroen DS3) 1hr 39min 49sec, 2. Sebastien Ogier (FRA/Volkswagen Polo-R) at 1min 20.3sec, 3. Mikko Hirvonen (FIN/Citroen DS3) 1:46.7, 4. Dani Sordo (ESP/Citroen DS3) 2:01.2, 5. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN/Volkswagen Polo-R) 2:32.2, 6. Evgueny Novikov (RUS/Ford Fiesta RS) 2:50.6, 7. Bryan Bouffier (FRA/Citroen DS3) 2:57.1, 8. Juho Hanninen (FIN/Ford Fiesta RS) 3:03.5, 9. Mads Ostberg (NOR)/Ford Fiesta RS) 4:45.1, 10. Martin Prokop (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) 7:11.3



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi
Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.