Latvala wins Rally of Sweden

2012-02-12 16:08
Jari-Matti Latvala (AP)
Hagfors - Ford driver Jari-Matti Latvala of Finland clinched Rally Sweden on Sunday in a time of three hours, 18 minutes and 28.3 seconds.

Latvala's countryman Mikko Hirvonen, a winner here in 2010 and 2011, finished 16.6 seconds behind in second.

Norwegian Mads Ostberg finished third overall, 38.8 seconds behind the winner after climbing past compatriot Petter Solberg who was fourth.

Solberg, the 2003 world champion, finished 1:14.3 behind Latvala.

Eight-time world champion Sebastien Loeb of France, out of contention following a two-minute loss on Friday when he drove off the road, finished sixth, 2:55.1 behind the winner.

Rally of Sweden results at end of Sunday's action:

1. Jari-Matti Latvala-Miikka Anttila (FIN/Ford Fiesta RS) 3h18:28.3
2. Mikko Hirvonen-Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN/Citren DS3) at 16.6
3. Mads Ostberg- Jonas Andersson (NOR-SWE/Ford) 38.8
4. Petter Solberg-Chris Patterson (NOR-GBR/Ford Fiesta RS) 58.8
5. Evgeny Novikov-Denis Giraudet (RUS-FRA/Ford Fiesta RS) 1:14.3
6. Sbastien Loeb-Daniel Elena (FRA-MON/Citren DS3) 2:55.1
7. Henning Solberg-Ilka Minor (NOR-AUT/Ford) 3:49.5
8. Patrik Sandell-Stffan Parmander (SWE/Mini) 5:08.9
9. Martin Prokop--Zdenek Hruza (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) 5:30.0
10. Eyvind Brynildsen-Cato Menkerud (NOR/Ford Fiesta) 6:27.2
11. Sbastien Ogier-Julien Ingrassia (FRA/Skoda Fabia) 7:35.0

Special Stage winners: Sordo 1 (SS1), Latvala 9 (SS2, SS8, SS11, SS12, SS15, SS16, SS19, SS20, SS23), Ostberg 3 (SS2, SS21, SS22), Loeb 4 (SS3, SS6, SS18, SS24), Hirvonen 5 (SS4, SS5, SS7, SS13, SS17), P. Solberg 2 (SS9, SS10), Tanak 2 (SS14, SS18).



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring


Your Winter Body Weight Workout

Cold weather does not mean you have to slack off on your workouts, here are some tips to stay fit in the winter.



The perks of power walking
Best ‘glamping' spots in the Western Cape
6 hiking routes you have to try
South African woman learns to surf at age 70
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.