Latvala nips in front of Loeb

2011-11-12 19:52
Jari-Matti Latvala (File)

Builth Wells - Finland's Jari-Matti Latvala took over the lead from Frenchman Sebastien Loeb following the six special stages on the third and penultimate day of the season-closing Wales Rally GB on Saturday.

Loeb, who virtually secured his record eighth consecutive world title on Friday when sole rival Mikko Hirvonen abandoned, was second at six seconds after stages 12 to 17.

Norwegian Mads Ostberg, who has been suffering from engine problems, did well to end up third but at nearly three minutes off the pace the fight for the last race of the season has come down to a duel between Latvala and Loeb.

The Frenchman had started the first three stages on Saturday just 1.1 secs ahead of his Finnish rival and extended his advantage to just over seven seconds by the end of that session.

Latvala, however, launched a determined fightback during which he powered his Ford Fiesta to the fastest times in the closing stages of the afternoon (SS 15-17).

"It's going really well and tomorrow (Sunday) morning I need to wake up with a very clean head," said Latvala, who has four rally wins to his name but is yet to win this season.

"I have good confidence and I'm so hungry for the victory."

Loeb said his progress had been slowed by the slippery conditions he encountered by having to run at the head of the field.

"I was pushing very hard but honestly it was so slippery and I had absolutely no grip," said the Frenchman.

"I tried and made no mistake but I could not do any better."

Sunday will feature the final six stages of the Wales Rally GB, the 13th and final race in the world rally championship.

Standings after Saturday's six special stages on the third and penultimate day of the Wales Rally GB, the 13th and final event in this season's world rally championship:

Standings after completion of special stages 12-17:

1. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) Ford Fiesta RS 2hr 38min 37.9sec, 2. Sebastien Loeb (FRA) Citroen DS3 at 6.1, 3. Mads Ostberg (NOR) SWE 2:43.9, 4. Henning Solberg (NOR) Ford Fiesta RS 5:35.0, 5. Kris Meeke (GBR) Mini John Cooper Works 6:20.0, 6. Matthew Wilson (GBR) Ford Fiesta RS 7:05.6, 7. Dennis Kuipers (NED) Ford Fiesta RS 7:57.4, 8. Ott Tanak (EST) Ford Fiesta RS 8:02.3, 9. Evgeny Novikov (RUS) Ford Fiesta RS 8:22.3, 10. Ken Block (USA) Ford Fiesta RS 13:24.7


Petter Solberg (NOR) Citroen DS3, mechanical problem SS12

Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Citroen DS3, mechanical problem SS13


Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) Ford Fiesta RS, engine SS7

Specials winners:

Latvala 8 (SS1, SS8, SS10, SS11, SS13, SS15, SS16, SS17), Loeb 5 (SS2, SS4, SS7, SS12, SS14), Hirvonen 3 (SS3, SS5, SS6), Meeke 1 (SS9)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.