Button wins crash-marred GP

2012-09-02 16:07
Jenson Button (AP)
Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium - Jenson Button claimed his second win this year and 14th of his career on Sunday when he drove to a comprehensive victory in an incident and accident-packed Belgian Grand Prix.

Starting from the eighth pole position of his career and his first for the McLaren team, the 32-year-old Briton produced a consummate display of dominant driving from start to finish.

His victory was his first since the season-opening race in Australia and came in his 50th outing for McLaren and 220th overall as Formula One resumed after a month off for the traditional European summer break.

Button, the 2009 champion, came home 13.624 seconds ahead of second-placed defending champion German Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull with Finn Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus completing a podium of champions by coming home third.

Championship leader Spaniard Fernando Alonso of Ferrari crashed out of the race at the first corner where he was he was an innocent victim of a multiple collision triggered by aggressive driving by Frenchman Romain Grosjean in the second Lotus.

Grosjean swerved into Briton Lewis Hamilton of McLaren causing a pile-up that eliminated both drivers, along with Alonso and Mexican Sergio Perez of Sauber.

This gifted Red Bull men Vettel and Australian Mark Webber a perfect opportunity to close ground in the title race.

Webber finished sixth behind a dazzling display by German Nico Hulkenberg, who was fourth for Force India, and Brazilian Felipe Massa, of Ferrari.

Michael Schumacher, in his 300th Grand Prix and back at his favourite circuit where he made his debut in 1991, finished seventh for Mercedes ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne and his Toro Rosso team-mate Australian Daniel Ricciardo with Briton Paul Di Resta taking the final point in 10th place in the second Force India.

Vettel's opportunism saw him rise to second behind Alonso in the drivers' standings with 140 points to the Spaniard's 164.

Race results from the Formula 1 Grand Prix of Belgium at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps:

1 Jenson Button McLaren 1min29:08.530sec
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull +00:13.624
3 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus +00:25.334
4 Nico Hulkenberg Force India +00:27.843
5 Felipe Massa Ferrari +00:29.845
6 Mark Webber Red Bull +00:31.244
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes +00:53.374
8 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso +00:58.865
9 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso +01:02.982
10 Paul Di Resta Force India +01:03.783
11 Nico Rosberg Mercedes +01:05.111
12 Bruno Senna Williams +01:11.529
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber +01:56.119
14 Vitaly Petrov Caterham +1 lap
15 Timo Glock Marussia +1 lap
16 Charles Pic Marussia +1 lap
17 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham +1 lap
18 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1 lap


Narain Karthikeyan HRT 15 laps
Pastor Maldonado Williams 40 laps
Romain Grosjean Lotus 44 laps
Lewis Hamilton McLaren 44 laps
Fernando Alonso Ferrari 44 laps
Sergio Perez Sauber 44 laps

Fastest Lap: Bruno Senna Williams 1min52.822sec (lap 43)

Drivers points:

1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 164
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 140
3 Mark Webber Red Bull 132
4 Kimi Raikkonen Renault 131
5 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 117
6 Jenson Button McLaren 101
7 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 77
8 Romain Grosjean Renault 76
9 Sergio Perez Sauber 47
10 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 35
11 Felipe Massa Ferrari 35
12 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 33
13 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 31
14 Pastor Maldonado Williams 29
15 Paul Di Resta Force India 28
16 Bruno Senna Williams 24
17 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 8
18 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 4
19 Vitaly Petrov Team Lotus 0
20 Heikki Kovalainen Team Lotus 0
21 Timo Glock Marussia 0
22 Charles Pic Marussia 0
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 0
24 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 0

Constructors points:

1 Red Bull 272
2 McLaren 218
3 Lotus 207
4 Ferrari 199
5 Mercedes 112
6 Sauber 80
7 Force India 59
8 Williams 53
9 Toro Rosso 12
10 Caterham 0
11 Marussia 0
12 HRT 0

Read more on:    jenson button  |  motorsport

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Hypothetically, given the same cars to drive, who is the most talented current Formula One driver in your opinion?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.