Van Zyl pipped at the death

2011-04-03 20:32
Jaco van Zyl (Gallo Images)
Agidar - South African Jaco van Zyl came agonisingly close to claiming his maiden European victory as he was beaten by David Horsey on the second play-off hole of the Trophee Hassan II European Tour Event on Sunday.

The tournament went into a three man play-off with van Zyl, Horsey and Davies all finishing on total of 13 under par 274.

Englishman Horsey won in sudden death on the 18th hole with a short birdie putt after double-bogeying the hole in regulation play to surrender a one-shot lead.

In an extraordinary finish, van Zyl made it in through the backdoor as Horsey's double drop and Welshman Rhys Davies' bogey sent the tournament into extra holes.

It took three trips down the 18th to determine a winner, once in regulation play and two in a sudden death play-off.

Earlier, van Zyl who fired a final round 68, playing in the final group, trailed Horsey (69) by two and Davies (69) by one on the final green and would have thought his tournament over as his birdie attempt sailed narrowly wide.

The 32-year-old Sunshine tour winner went out in level par, but stormed into contention on the back nine with three birdies in a row from the 10th.

He added another on the par-five 15th hole.

Van Zyl, ranked 98th on the European tour money list known as the 'Race to Dubai' will vault up the ranking with his tie second finish.

His official world golf ranking will also improve substantially from 269th when the new rankings come out on Monday.

Leading final-round scores from the Hassan II Trophy in Agadir, Morocco on Sunday:

David Horsey wins play-off at the second extra hole

274 David Horsey (Britain) 67 71 67 69 274 Rhys Davies (Britain) 67 70 68 69

Jaco Van Zyl (South Africa) 68 73 65 68 276 George Coetzee (South Africa) 67 71 69 69 277 Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (France) 71 68 71 67

Oscar Floren (Sweden) 67 74 68 68 278 Richie Ramsay (Britain) 70 74 66 68

Mikko Ilonen (Finland) 74 64 69 71 279 David Lynn (Britain) 75 69 67 68

Tetsuji Hiratsuka (Japan) 71 68 70 70 280 Danny Willett (Britain) 72 71 69 68

Florian Fritsch (Germany) 70 69 70 71

Joost Luiten (Netherlands) 68 69 71 72

Lloyd Saltman (Britain) 67 72 69 72 281 Thomas Bjorn (Denmark) 72 73 74 62

Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark) 70 72 71 68

David Dixon (Britain) 69 73 69 70

Mark Tullo (Chile) 68 72 69 72


Read more on:    trophee hassan ii  |  jaco van zyl


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.