Sunshine Tour

Investec Cup field finalised

2016-03-04 21:26
Dean Burmester (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The 16 golfers will tee it up next Wednesday at Millvale Private Retreat in the R10 million Bonus Pool finale of the Chase to the Investec Cup were announced at Investec headquarters in Sandton on Friday.

The Investec Cup finale is the last event in the Chase to the Investec Cup, where 16 players will be competing for a share of R10 million. The 16 players to gain entry into the event are the top 16 in the Chase to the Investec Cup rankings.

These players have accumulated their points throughout the season at various Sunshine Tour events.

Dean Burmester, who has topped the rankings since the first week of the ‘chase’, will take an unassailable points advantage into the event. Burmester is currently 1 037.09 points ahead of second placed Brandon Stone.

Burmester racked up his impressive tally as a result of his four wins on the Sunshine Tour in 2015. These included the Golden Pilsner Zimbabwe Open, the Lombard Insurance Open, the Sun Windmill Challenge and the Vodacom Origins – Koro Creek event. He has claimed seven other top 10 finishes to remain in first position in the rankings throughout the season.

Stone amassed his points tally mainly through his BMW SA Open Championship win and the Lion of Africa Cape Town Open win. With four other top 10 finishes, Stone finds himself sitting pretty in second position.

In third is the 2016 Tshwane Open winner, Charl Schwartzel. Unfortunately, Schwartzel will miss the Investec Cup finale he will be playing on the PGA Tour. As always when someone misses out, an opportunity presents itself and in this case, Christiaan Bezuidenhout jumps into the mix.

Bezuidenhout started the year off with bang, finishing second to Brandon Stone at the BMW SA Open Championship.

Since then he has had a slightly indifferent showing of performances, missing cuts at the Tshwane Open and the Eye of Africa PGA Championship. Finding himself in the mix at Millvale Private Retreat is something the 2016 Q-School winner would love to cash in on.

Zander Lombard and Haydn Porteous, two of the stand-out youngsters of 2016, find themselves positioned fourth and eight respectively, alongside last week’s Eye of Africa PGA Championship winner Jaco van Zyl, Dimension Data Pro-Am winner George Coetzee and the ever-consistent Justin Walters.

Sun City Challenge winner Keith Horne sneaks in at 15th spot just behind Richard Sterne. Sterne finds himself in the mix thanks to some solid performances of late. A tied fourth at the Tshwane Open and a tie for 10th at the Joburg Open just about sealed his spot in the last 16.

Other players to make it into the top 16 include Vaughn Groenewald, Jean Hugo, Ross McGowan, Jacques Blaauw, Anthony Michael and Mark Williams.

Read more on:    sunshine tour  |  golf


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Quiz: Test your Rio Olympics memory!

Think you know what went on at the Rio Olympics? Prove it by tackling Sport24's ridiculously impossible yet highly addictive post-Games quiz!


Rio Olympics

GALLERY: SA's Rio Olympic medallists
As it happened: Rio Olympics - Day 17
Selecting 6 numbers turned Britain into Olympic superpower
Caster cranks up the heat in Rio semi

Louis Oosthuizen and Charl Schwartzel's decision to not represent South Africa at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, citing family and schedule issues, is...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Follow all the action from the 2016 Rio Olympics. The highs, the lows, the tears, the smiles as the world's greatest athletes compete for gold, silver and bronze.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.