Sun City field revealed

2011-10-20 10:53
Nedbank Challenge logo (File)
Cape Town - World number one Luke Donald heads a field including two former world number ones, three of the world’s top six players, four major winners, eight of the current top 10 on the European Tour’s Race to Dubai rankings, as well as seven Ryder Cup and two Presidents Cup stars in this year’s Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Country Club at Sun City from December 1-4.

Masters champions Charl Schwartzel will be flying the flag for SA.

Donald is the second consecutive world number one to tee it up in the annual showpiece, following Westwood’s appearance and victory in 2010. The strength of this year’s field is enhanced by another former top-spot holder in Martin Kaymer.

“I think it speaks volumes for the status of the Nedbank Golf Challenge that for the second year in succession we have been able to secure the world’s number one golfer for our tournament,” said Alastair Roper, the Tournament Director of the Nedbank Golf Challenge.

“The fact that we also have the last three world number ones in our field in Luke Donald, Lee Westwood and Martin Kaymer makes it that much more special.”

Kaymer, winner of the 2010 PGA Championship, also leads a strong list of major winners in the field, including 2010 US Open champion Graeme McDowell, reigning Augusta champion Schwartzel and current Open champion Darren Clarke.

The field includes a total of seven Ryder Cup players in Westwood, Donald, Kaymer, McDowell, Clarke, Thomas Bjorn and Robert Karlsson. Schwartzel and Kim Kyung-Tae are also both in the International team for this year’s Presidents Cup in Australia.

American Jason Dufner, who came close to a maiden major this year when he finished second to Keegan Bradley in the PGA Championship, joins McDowell, Kaymer, Kim and Dyson as the players making their debut in this year’s Nedbank Golf Challenge.

The 12-man field is:

Luke Donald (England)
Lee Westwood (England)
Martin Kaymer (Germany)
Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)
Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland)
Robert Karlsson (Sweden)
Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)
Simon Dyson (England)
Anders Hansen (Denmark)
Kim Kyung-Tae (South Korea)
Jason Dufner (USA)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Big month in the world of golf as the FedEx Cup concludes on the PGA Tour, the Race to Dubai gathers steam on the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour offers local golfers the chance to bank some cash. Oh, and not forgetting the USA v Europe Ryder Cup showdown at Hazeltine!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 2016 edition of the Ryder Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.