Quesne wins Andalucia Open

2012-03-18 19:28
Julien Quesne (File)

Andalucia - France's Julien Quesne, the world No 322, won the Andalucia Open on Sunday to claim his maiden European Tour title at the age of 31.

Quesne, who graduated from last season's Challenge Tour, carded a final round eight under par 64 for a four-round 17 under, 271 total, winning the title by two shots from Italian teenager Matteo Manassero, who finished with a 68.

Spain's Eduardo De La Riva, the second- and third-round leader, finished in third place after a final round 70, a round scarred by a bogey at the last.

"It's the best day of my life," said Quesne, whose previous best had been a tie for 16th at the 2010 Madrid Masters.

Quesne birdied four of the last five holes, his approach to the 18th leaving him a five-foot putt which he holed as he closed with a course record-equalling 64.

"It's not easy because you have Manassero, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Pablo Larrazabal, they all played good, so I just tried to play shot after shot and do my best," added the French player, the European Tour's 400th different winner.

"I knew that if I holed the putt at the last I'd have a good chance. I'm very happy. It's very quick for me to win this year."

Quesne birdied both par fives on the front nine and hit birdie putts at the eighth and ninth to turn in 32.

After five consecutive pars he sunk a 12-footer at the 14th, rolled in a 15-footer at the 15th and two-putted from 60 feet at the 16th.

England's David Lynn failed to build on a 30-foot eagle at the fifth as he finished fourth, one ahead of South African Hennie Otto and Quesne's compatriot Raphael Jacquelin.

Tournament host Jimenez, aiming to become the oldest winner in European Tour history, finished in a share of seventh after a 71.

Leading final-round scores from the Andalucia Open at the par-72 course in Marbella, Spain on Sunday:

271 Julien Quesne (France) 68 72 67 64 273 Matteo Manassero (Italy) 64 73 68 68 274 Eduardo De La Riva (Spain) 67 69 68 70 275 David Lynn (Britain) 70 68 68 69 276 Raphael Jacquelin (France) 70 68 69 69
Hennie Otto (South Africa) 67 71 68 70 277 Jaco Van Zyl (South Africa) 69 71 71 66
Shane Lowry (Ireland) 71 72 67 67
Mark Foster (Britain) 69 70 69 69
Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain) 69 68 69 71 278 Edoardo Molinari (Italy) 73 65 71 69
Borja Etchart (Spain) 71 71 66 70
Gregory Bourdy (France) 70 72 66 70
Phillip Price (Britain) 69 72 66 71
Simon Khan (Britain) 70 69 66 73 279 Graeme Storm (Britain) 70 69 69 71 280 Alex Haindl (South Africa) 68 71 70 71
Robert Rock (Britain) 69 69 70 72
Marcel Siem (Germany) 69 71 67 73


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 2016 edition of the Ryder Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.