Players OK with Tiger penalty

2013-04-14 10:39
Tiger Woods (AP)
Augusta - Tiger Woods still has a chance to win the Masters.

Most of his fellow players are OK with that.

Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty on Saturday before he went out for the third round of the Masters. The ruling that stirred up plenty of debate because of the way it was handled by Augusta National.

Woods could've been disqualified for signing an improper scorecard. Instead, he was docked a couple of strokes, bounced back to shoot a 70, and will go to the final round four strokes behind so-leaders Brandt Snedeker and Angel Cabrera.

Steve Stricker is among those who believe club officials got it right. Bubba Watson and Nick Watney both stressed that Woods would never knowingly violate a rule to gain an advantage.

Read more on:    masters  |  pga tour  |  tiger woods  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which of the FIVE South Africans competing at this year's Masters has the best chance of winning?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.