Bourdy tops European Masters

2012-08-30 20:26
Gregory Bourdy (File)

Crans-sur-Sierre, Switzerland - Gregory Bourdy of France shot an 8-under 63 to lead by two strokes after the rain-swept European Masters first round on Thursday.

Bourdy, who got the last of his three European Tour wins in 2009, had eight birdies and no dropped shots in the thin Alpine air of the Crans-sur-Sierre club.

Fredrik Andersson Hed of Sweden and Oliver Fisher of England shot 65s late in the afternoon to be two strokes back.

Anirban Lahiri of India heads five players on 5-under, trailing Bourdy by three.

Among Europe's 12 Ryder Cup players to face the United States next month, only Paul Lawrie was in action. The Scot shot a 2-under 69.

Defending champion Thomas Bjorn of Denmark shot 74, and Australian Greg Norman had an eagle three in his 75.

Scores from the European PGA Tour European Masters at the par-71 course on Thursday in Crans-Montana:

63 Gregory Bourdy (France) 63 65 Fredrik Andersson Hed (Sweden) 65
Oliver Fisher (Britain) 65 66 Anirban Lahiri (India) 66
Rhys Davies (Britain) 66
Robert Coles (Britain) 66
Scott Barr (Australia) 66
David Howell (Britain) 66 67 Markus Brier (Austria) 67
Niclas Fasth (Sweden) 67
Johan Edfors (Sweden) 67
Sam Little (Britain) 67
Andrew Dodt (Australia) 67
Stephen Gallacher (Britain) 67
Danny Willett (Britain) 67
Romain Wattel (France) 67 68 Marcus Fraser (Australia) 68
Lee Slattery (Britain) 68
Felipe Aguilar (Chile) 68
Anders Hansen (Denmark) 68
Julien Quesne (France) 68
Thomas Levet (France) 68
Graeme Storm (Britain) 68
David Drysdale (Britain) 68
Jose Manuel Lara (Spain) 68
Bernd Wiesberger (Austria) 68
Jyoti Randhawa (India) 68
Marcel Siem (Germany) 68
Berry Henson (U.S.) 68
Martin Rominger (Switzerland) 68
Phillip Price (Britain) 68
Victor Dubuisson (France) 68 69 Scott Jamieson (Britain) 69
Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay) 69
Paul Lawrie (Britain) 69
Alex Cejka (Germany) 69
Gregory Havret (France) 69
Jaco Van Zyl (South Africa) 69
Richard McEvoy (Britain) 69
Jamie Donaldson (Britain) 69
Richie Ramsay (Britain) 69
Henrik Stenson (Sweden) 69
Simon Dyson (Britain) 69
Shane Lowry (Ireland) 69
Peter Hanson (Sweden) 69
Maarten Lafeber (Netherlands) 69
Steve Webster (Britain) 69
Kieran Pratt (Australia) 69
Maximilian Walz (Germany) 69 70 Lorenzo Gagli (Italy) 70
Jason Knutzon (U.S.) 70
Michael Hoey (Britain) 70
Branden Grace (South Africa) 70
Ross Fisher (Britain) 70
Darren Fichardt (South Africa) 70
Richard Finch (Britain) 70
Adrien Saddier (France) 70
Tjaart Van der Walt (South Africa) 70
George Murray (Britain) 70
Hennie Otto (South Africa) 70
Keith Horne (South Africa) 70
Prom Meesawat (Thailand) 70
Michael Campbell (New Zealand) 70
Mathias Groenberg (Sweden) 70
David Lipsky (U.S.) 70
Richard Johnson (Sweden) 70
Soren Kjeldsen (Denmark) 70
Ricardo Santos (Portugal) 70
Tommy Fleetwood (Britain) 70 71 Peter Whiteford (Britain) 71
Michael Jonzon (Sweden) 71
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spain) 71
Matteo Manassero (Italy) 71
Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand) 71
Alejandro Canizares (Spain) 71
James Morrison (Britain) 71
Angelo Que (Philippines) 71
Chris Wood (Britain) 71
Paul Waring (Britain) 71
Mardan Mamat (Singapore) 71
Mohammad Siddikur (Bangladesh) 71
Alexander Noren (Sweden) 71
Joel Sjoeholm (Sweden) 71
Brett Rumford (Australia) 71
David Horsey (Britain) 71
Joost Luiten (Netherlands) 71
Scott Hend (Australia) 71
Ricardo Gonzalez (Argentina) 71
Peter Karmis (South Africa) 71
S.S.P. Chowrasia (India) 71
Himmat Rai (India) 71 72 Andy Zhang (China) 72
Thomas Aiken (South Africa) 72
Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark) 72
Peter Lawrie (Ireland) 72
Garth Mulroy (South Africa) 72
Rich Beem (U.S.) 72
Rikard Karlberg (Sweden) 72
Marcus Both (Australia) 72
Mark Foster (Britain) 72
Gaganjeet Bhullar (India) 72
Oscar Floren (Sweden) 72
Ignacio Garrido (Spain) 72
Raphael Jacquelin (France) 72
Colin Montgomerie (Britain) 72
Benjamin Hebert (France) 72
Matthew Baldwin (Britain) 72
Darren Clarke (Britain) 72
Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain) 72
Paul McGinley (Ireland) 72
Gareth Maybin (Britain) 72
Edouard Amacher (Switzerland) 72
Carlos Del Moral (Spain) 72
Peter Hedblom (Sweden) 72
Richard Sterne (South Africa) 72
Francisco Valera (Spain) 72
Michael Thannhaeuser (Germany) 72 73 Paul Casey (Britain) 73
Mikko Ilonen (Finland) 73
David Lynn (Britain) 73
James Kingston (South Africa) 73
Pariya Junhasavasdikul (Thailand) 73
Shiv Kapur (India) 73
Pablo Larrazabal (Spain) 73
Thaworn Wiratchant (Thailand) 73
Gary Boyd (Britain) 73
Ken Benz (Switzerland) 73 74 Matthew Zions (Australia) 74
Jbe' Kruger (South Africa) 74
Kristoffer Broberg (Sweden) 74
Thomas Bjorn (Denmark) 74
Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (France) 74
Chinnarat Phadungsil (Thailand) 74
Robert-Jan Derksen (Netherlands) 74
Namchok Tantipokhakul (Thailand) 74
Damien McGrane (Ireland) 74
Estanislao Goya (Argentina) 74 75 Greg Norman (Australia) 75
Kenneth Ferrie (Britain) 75
Roger Furrer (Switzerland) 75
Benjamin Rusch (Switzerland) 75 76 Damian Ulrich (Switzerland) 76
Joonas Granberg (Finland) 76
Marc Warren (Britain) 76 77 Pablo Martin (Spain) 77
Tom Lewis (Britain) 77
Chiragh Kumar (India) 77
Ross Bain (Britain) 77
Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain) 77
Joel Girrbach (Switzerland) 77 78 Zaw Moe (Myanmar) 78
Digvijay Singh (India) 78
Christian Nilsson (Sweden) 78 79 Richard Green (Australia) 79 81 Bradley Dredge (Britain) 81 82 Sven Struever (Germany) 82

Read more on:    european masters  |  golf

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which of the 8 SA golfers at this year's US Open will fare best?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.