Big SA contingent at US Open

2012-06-12 12:28
Charl Schwartzel (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - There will be a strong South African flavour to the 112th US Open field at the Olympic Club in San Francisco, starting on Thursday.

No fewer than eight South Africans will be looking to depose defending champion Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy of the title he won last year at Congressional.

Charl Schwartzel (15th in the world), will be looking to add the US Open title to his 2011 Masters trophy. He tees off in Round 1 in the company of Sweden's Carl Pettersson and American Charles Howell at 17:06 SA time.

Louis Oosthuizen (16th), who so nearly won this year's edition of the Masters, has suffered a dip in form of late, but will be looking to go one better in San Francisco. The likable Mossel Bay local tees off at 22:47 alongside red-hot two-time 2012 PGA Tour winner, American Jason Dufner, and Australia's Jason Day.
Two-time US Open champion (1994, 1997) Ernie Els (43rd) will be hunting his hat-trick in the company of Australia's Geoff Ogilvy and big-hitting Argentinian Angel Cabrera at 22:02.

The other South African's in the field are Branden Grace (54th), George Coetzee (69th), Retief Goosen (72nd), Trevor Immelman (132nd) and Tim Clark (232nd).

Tiger Woods tops the Ladbrokes betting stakes at 7/1 with Schwartzel and Oosthuizen jointly the best South African bets at 50/1. The other South Africans are on offer at: Els (66/1), Goosen (100/1), Immelman (150/1), Grace (150/1), Clark (200/1) and Coetzee (200/1).

First round tee-times and pairings at the Olympic Club's 7 170-yard, par-70 Lake Course:

First Tee

16:15 - Scott Langley (USA), Steve Lebrun (USA), Beau Hossler (USA)
16:26 - Jason Bohn (USA), Raphael Jacquelin (FRA), JB Park (KOR)
16:37 - Michael Thompson (USA), Colt Knost (USA), Steve Marino (USA)
16:48 - Brendan Jones (AUS), George Coetzee (RSA), Gregory Bourdy (FRA)
16:59 - Patrick Cantlay (USA), Jonathan Byrd (USA), Kyle Stanley (USA)
17:10 - Retief Goosen (RSA), Vijay Singh (FIJ), Zach Johnson (USA)
17:21 - Andy Zhang (CHN), Hiroyuki Fujita (JPN), Mark Wilson (USA)
17:32 - Adam Scott (AUS), Keegan Bradley (USA), Webb Simpson (USA)
17:43 - Tim Clark (RSA), Toru Taniguchi (JPN), Rod Pampling (AUS)
17:54 - Francesco Molinari (ITA), Bo Van Pelt (USA), Peter Hanson (SWE)
18:05 - DA Points (USA), Lee Dong-Hwan (KOR), Kevin Streelman (USA)
18:16 - Edward Loar (USA), Paul Claxton (USA), Alistair Presnell (AUS)
18:27 - Mark McCormick (USA), Nick Sherwood (USA), Cole Howard (USA)
12:45 - Casey Martin (USA), Cameron Wilson (USA), Dennis Miller (USA)
12:56 - Jim Herman (USA), William Lunde (USA), David Mathis (USA)
21:07 - Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL), Charlie Wi (KOR), Simon Dyson (ENG)
21:18 - Alvaro Quiros (ESP), Gary Woodland (USA), John Senden (AUS)
21:29 - Rory McIlroy (NIR), Luke Donald (ENG), Lee Westwood (ENG)
21:40 - Jim Furyk (USA), Sergio Garcia (ESP), Graeme McDowell (NIR)
21:51 - Stewart Cink (USA), Trevor Immelman (RSA), Lucas Glover (USA)
22:02 - Ernie Els (RSA), Geoff Ogilvy (AUS), Angel Cabrera (ARG)
22:13 - Martin Laird (SCO), Ben Crane (USA), Anders Hansen (DEN)
22:24 - Matteo Manassero (ITA), Aaron Baddeley (AUS), Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)
22:35 - Brian Harman (USA), Spencer Levin (USA) Mikko Ilonen (FIN)
22:46 - Brice Garnett (USA), Justin Hicks (USA) Jesse Mueller (USA)
22:57 - Brian Rowell (USA), Alberto Sanchez (USA), Brian Gaffney (USA)

Ninth Tee

16:00 - Shane Bertsch (USA), Martin Flores (USA), Tommy Biershenk (USA)
16:11 - Scott Piercy (USA), Matthew Baldwin (ENG), Matt Bettencourt (USA)
16:22 - Thomas Bjorn (DEN), Kevin Na (USA), Branden Grace (RSA)
16:33 - Phil Mickelson (USA), Tiger Woods (USA), Bubba Watson (USA)
16:44 - Joe Ogilvie (USA), Stephen Ames (CAN), Tim Herron (USA)
16:55 - Davis Love (USA), Padraig Harrington (IRL), David Toms (USA)
17:06 - Carl Pettersson (SWE), Charl Schwartzel (RSA), Charles Howell (USA)
17:17 - Robert Karlsson (SWE), Bob Estes (USA), Robert Rock (ENG)
17:28 - KJ Choi (KOR), YE Yang (KOR), KT Kim (KOR)
17:39 - Fredrik Jacobson (SWE), Robert Garrigus (USA), Alexander Noren (SWE)
17:50 - Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP), Bae Sang Moon (KOR), Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)
18:01 - Marc Warren (SCO), Anthony Summers (AUS), Michael Allen (USA)
18:12 - Hunter Hamrick (USA), Tim Weinhart (USA), Scott Smith (USA)
21:30 - John Peterson (USA), Morgan Hoffmann (USA), Aaron Watkins (USA)
21:41 - Jeff Curl (USA), Nicholas Thompson (USA), Casey Wittenberg (USA)
21:52 - Soren Kjeldsen (DEN), Chez Reavie (USA), Peter Lawrie (IRL)
22:03 - Michael Campbell (NZL), Olin Browne (USA), Joe Durant (USA)
22:14 - Bill Haas (USA), Nick Watney (USA), Jordan Spieth (USA)
22:25 - Martin Kaymer (GER), Hunter Mahan (USA), Justin Rose (ENG)
22:36 - Steve Stricker (USA), Ian Poulter (ENG), Matt Kuchar (USA)
22:47 - Jason Day (AUS), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Jason Dufner (USA)
22:58 - Rickie Fowler (USA), Ryo Ishikawa (JPN), Dustin Johnson (USA)
23:09 - Hunter Haas (USA), Tadahiro Takayama (JPN), Lee Slattery (ENG)
23:20 - Alex Cejka (GER), Kevin Chappell (USA), Blake Adams (USA)
23:31 - James Hahn (USA), Darron Stiles (USA), Roberto Castro (USA)
23:42 - Brooks Koepka (USA), Kyle Thompson (USA), Samuel Osborne (ENG)



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Byrne: Israel Folau a 'freak'
LIVE: New Zealand 14-6 Tonga
England World Cup coaches barred
Lancaster comes out guns blazing
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Which is your favourite event on the golfing calendar?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.