Zimbabwe bat first against Sri Lanka

2016-11-21 10:24
Cricket bat and ball (Getty Images)

Bulawayo - Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first in Monday's one-day international against Sri Lanka at Queens Sports Club as they looked to keep their triangular series hopes alive.

After losing to Sri Lanka before earning a tie with West Indies in the first round of games, the hosts sit bottom of the table but victory on Monday would keep them in the running for Sunday's final.

While Zimbabwe named an unchanged side to the one that held on to tie a dramatic game on Saturday, Sri Lanka made two changes from their last match, which they lost by 62 runs to the West Indies.

All-rounder Dasun Shanaka and leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay made their first appearances in the competition, as Nuwan Pradeep and Shehan Jayasuriya missed out.


Zimbabwe: BB Chari, CJ Chibhabha, CR Ervine, Sikandar Raza, SC Williams, E Chigumbura, PJ Moor (wk), AG Cremer (captain), DT Tiripano, CB Mpofu, TS Chisoro

Sri Lanka: DM de Silva, MDKJ Perera, N Dickwella (wk), BKG Mendis, WU Tharanga (captain), MD Shanaka, DAS Gunaratne, SS Pathirana, KMDN Kulasekara, RAS Lakmal, JDF Vandersay

Read more on:    zimbabwe  |  elton chigumbura  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The Proteas are currently on tour in England, involved in a four-Test series with their hosts. How will they fare? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who should open the batting alongside Dean Elgar in SA's four-Test series against England in July?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.