Opener Braithwaite earns ODI call up

2016-09-06 15:57
Kraigg Brathwaite (Gallo Images)

Jamaica - West Indies Test opener Kraigg Brathwaite has been handed a call up to the ODI squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Brathwaite has 31 Test caps to his name, having made his debut in 2011 but is yet to be capped at ODI or T20I level.

The T20I squad includes two uncapped players in the form of all-rounder Rovman Powell and wicketkeeper-batsman Nicholas Pooran.

Chris Gayle has been left out of the T20 squad after making himself unavailable for selection while Lendl Simmons has been excluded for medical reasons.

Two further uncapped players feature in the ODI squad, they are batsman Evin Lewis and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph. Lewis scored a 48-ball hundred in the first T20I against India in Florida last month. Joseph impressed in his Test debut against India at St Lucia picking up the wickets of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in India's first innings.

Pooran had an impressive run in this year's Caribbean Premier League, where he scored 217 runs in eight innings at a strike rate of 197.27 and managed eight dismissals while keeping wicket.

Powell is a promising young player who showed his talent in bursts during the CPL this season.

Former T20 captain, Darren Sammy has been left out of the squad yet again after being axed from his role ahead of the series against India.

Gayle, Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Simmons, Andre Russell and Samuel Badree were not eligible to be selected for the ODI squad having played no domestic fifty-over cricket last season.

The West Indies will kick off their tour with three T20Is against Pakistan, between September 23 and 27, followed by the three-match ODI series which gets underway from September 30.

West Indies ODI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Shannon Gabriel, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels

West Indies T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton

Read more on:    west indies  |  kraigg brathwaite  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


Big month in the world of golf as the FedEx Cup concludes on the PGA Tour, the Race to Dubai gathers steam on the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour offers local golfers the chance to bank some cash. Oh, and not forgetting the USA v Europe Ryder Cup showdown at Hazeltine!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.