India retain squad for Oz Tests

2017-02-14 14:19
Virat Kohli (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - India have retained the same squad from the Test against Bangladesh for the first two matches of their upcoming series against Australia.

The first Test gets underway on Thursday, February 23 in Pune with India looking to extend their 19 match unbeaten streak in the game's longest format.

Meanwhile, Australia will be looking to snap a nine match losing streak in Asia and erase the memories of their horror series in Sri Lanka last year.

It seems very likely that India will retain the same XI as they fielded against Bangladesh, but they may consider adding an extra spinner in place of one of the three seamers who took on the Tigers.

Jayant Yadav would be the obvious choice to come in with Bhuvneshwar Kumar likely to drop out of the XI should this take place.

India's top order looks settled and in good nick so triple centurion Karun Nair is unlikely to play in Pune.

India squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Hardik Pandya

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The Proteas are currently on tour in England, involved in a four-Test series with their hosts. How will they fare? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who should open the batting alongside Dean Elgar in SA's four-Test series against England in July?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.