India bat first against NZ in 500th Test

2016-09-22 06:35
Cheteshwar Pujara (Gallo Images)

Kanpur - India won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand in their series-opener in Kanpur on Thursday - the 500th Test in the hosts' history.

India start as favourites against New Zealand as they begin their quest to displace arch-rivals Pakistan at the top of the Test rankings.

The three-Test series kicks off a packed programme of international cricket for India, who will also host England, Bangladesh and Australia later this season.

Two spinners and two pace bowlers are included in Virat Kohli's India team at Green Park stadium.

The Kane Williamson-led visitors have three spinners in their starting XI.


India: Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Mark Craig, Ish Sodhi, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

Read more on:    india  |  cheteshwar pujara  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.