Australia announce Sri Lanka tour

2016-04-06 10:51
Steve Smith (AP)

Sydney - Australia on Wednesday announced their first Test tour of Sri Lanka in five years, with the world's No 1 team embarking on a two-month series from July.

Steve Smith's side will play three Tests - in Kandy, Galle and Colombo - along with five one-day internationals and two Twenty20s, Cricket Australia said on its website, with the team departing on July 11.

Only three members of Australia's most recent Test side - Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle and Usman Khawaja - have experienced the five-day game in Sri Lanka, when Michael Clarke's team won their last series 1-0 in 2011.

Australia's tour of Sri Lanka:

July 26-30 - 1st Test, Kandy

August 4-8 - 2nd Test, Galle

August 13-17 - 3rd Test, Colombo

August 21 - 1st ODI, Colombo

August 24 - 2nd ODI, Colombo

August 28 - 3rd ODI, Dambulla

August 31 - 4th ODI, Dambulla

September 4 - 5th ODI, Kandy,

September 6 - 1st T20, Kandy

September 9 - 2nd T20, Colombo

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  australia  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.