World T20 schedule named

2013-10-28 13:19
ICC (File)
Dhaka - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the match schedules for the ICC World Twenty20 to be staged in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6 next year.

As many as 35 tournament matches will be played across Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet in the 22-day tournament.

The format for next year’s tournament has been changed following an increase in teams from 12 to 16.

As the teams’ seeding are based on the ICC T20I Team Rankings as of October 8, 2012, the top eight sides following the conclusion of the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 will play directly in the Super 10 stage, while Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, who finished outside the top eight, will participate in the first round that will be held from 16-21 March.

The first round of the event will include eight sides that will be divided into two groups of four teams each, with the table-toppers progressing to the Super 10 stage.

In the first round, Group A will feature hosts Bangladesh alongside three teams that will qualify from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, to be staged from 15 to 30 November.

Group B will include Zimbabwe, who will be joined by another three teams from the upcoming qualifiers. As such, the two groups will be finalised on November 30.

The Super 10 stage will start with an evening match between former champions India and Pakistan in Dhaka on Friday, March 21.

Reigning champions the West Indies will launch their title defence against India in an evening match on Sunday, March 23. Earlier on the same day, Pakistan will lock horns with Australia, who are looking for the only global title that has eluded them to date.

If Bangladesh reach the Super 10 stage, they will play all their matches in Dhaka, facing the West Indies on March 25, India on March 28, Pakistan on March 30 and Australia on April 1.

The prize money for the event will be $3m, with the winner receiving $1.1m and the losing finalist collecting $550 000.

The two groups of the Super 10 stage are:

Super 10 (S10) Groups (Based on teams’ rankings on the ICC T20I Team Rankings as of October 8, 2012):

Group 1 - Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Group B Qualifier 1 (Q1B)
Group 2 - West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Group A Qualifier 1 (Q1A)

Read more on:    icc  |  icc world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.