Philander wins top CSA award

2012-06-06 22:38
Vernon Philander (File)
Johannesburg - Proteas seamer Vernon Philander was named South African Cricketer of the Year on Wednesday following a sensational entry into Test cricket during the 2011-12 season.

Philander, 26, took 51 wickets in seven Tests at an average of 14.15. He took five or more wickets in an innings on six occasions and twice claimed 10 wickets in a match.

The Cape Cobras bowler was mainly responsible for bowling out Australia for 47 in his debut Test in Cape Town last November, taking five for 15.

He also topped South Africa's bowling averages in all three Test series in which he played - against Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

Philander, who also won the Test Cricketer and Fans’ Cricketer of the Year awards, proved the ideal foil to Dale Steyn, the world's No 1 ranked fast bowler, bowling a tight line at a lively pace and making the ball move in both directions through the air and off the seam.

AB de Villiers was named one-day international cricketer of the year after scoring 475 runs at an average of 158.33 with a strike rate of 116.13 in his first season as South Africa's limited-overs captain.

Hard-hitting opening batsman Richard Levi collected the Twenty20 player of the year award for his innings of 117 not out off 51 balls against New Zealand in Hamilton.

He set world records by scoring his century off 45 balls and hitting 13 sixes.

Professional awards: Proteas

SA Newcomer of the Year: Marchant de Lange
CSA International T20 Cricketer of the Year: Richard Levi
One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers
Test Cricketer of the Year: Vernon Philander
KFC “So Good” Award: Richard Levi
CSA Fans' Cricketer of the Year: Vernon Philander
SA Players’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers
SA Cricketer of the Year: Vernon Philander

Professional awards: Domestic

CSA 1-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year: Dean Elgar
T20 Cricketer of the Year: Farhaan Behardien
SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year: Alviro Petersen
CSA Fairplay award: Sunfoil Dolphins
CSA Coach of the Year: Matthew Maynard
Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Eddie Leie
SACA MVP award: Morne van Wyk
Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Faf du Plessis

Professional awards: Operations

CSA Groundsman of the Year: Louis Kruger (North West)
CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng
CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Karl Hurter
CSA Umpire of the Year: Shaun George

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas  |  vernon philander  |  cricket

Stokes brings the 'X factor'

2016-10-25 21:49

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.