T20 Domestic Cup

Warriors sign England's Patel

2013-02-14 16:41
Samit Patel (AFP)
Cape Town - The Warriors on Thursday announced the signing of England and Nottinghamshire player Samit Patel for the forthcoming T20 Domestic Cup (RAM SLAM T20 Cup).

Patel, who is currently in New Zealand with the England team, will arrive in Port Elizabeth on February 25 and be available for the rest of the series.

Patel has played 18 international T20s and 111 domestic matches for Nottinghamshire with highest score of 84*.  A slow left-arm orthodox bowler he has taken 79 wickets in 111 matches.

“I'm very excited to be joining the Warriors for the RAM SLAM T20 competition. I've heard fantastic things about the team and the area. The Warriors have a history of doing well in this format and I hope I can add something extra and make this year a winning season.

"I want to thank my county in England for releasing me to play and speaking to the staff at the Warriors I really can't wait to start," said Patel.

Coach Piet Botha said “We are delighted that Samit will be joining the Warriors. His experience at the highest level will be of great benefit to our squad both on and off the field.” 

“In addition to adding value to our squad we are confident with players like Samit Patel playing in the RAM SLAM the profile of this tournament will increase and do justice to the huge effort being put in by the new sponsor,” said CEO Dave Emslie.

The Warriors travel to Kimberley on Friday for their first match against the Knights to be played on Sunday.

Rusty Theron has been declared fit and re-joins the squad for the tournament.  “I am very pleased to be back in the squad following my injury. I have been working really hard over the past few weeks in the nets and am looking forward to the Warriors playing really good twenty over cricket.”

Warriors squad for the first match:

Davy Jacobs (captain)
Ashwell Prince
Colin Ingram             
Jon-Jon Smuts
Kelly Smuts               
Makhaya Ntini
Ayabulela Gqamane                       
Christiaan Jonker
Adrian McLaren
Andrew Birch
Simon Harmer            
Wayne Parnell
Craig Thyssen           
Rusty Theron

Read more on:    t20 domestic cup  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will be crowned 2015 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The Proteas are currently on tour in England, involved in a four-Test series with their hosts. How will they fare? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.