T20 Domestic Cup

Titans rain on Cobras parade

2014-01-09 22:38
Farhaan Behardien (Gallo Images)
Pretoria - Farhaan Behardien and Albie Morkel provided the firepower required for the Titans to clinch a frenetic, rain-shortened RAM SLAM T20 match against the Cape Cobras at SuperSport Park on Thursday night.

The pair cashed in on the opportunities handed to them by a dropped catch and a controversial umpiring decision to add 42 runs for the fourth wicket as the Titans chased down a target of 89 runs from 10 overs to win by six wickets on the Duckworth-Lewis Method.

A hectic start to the chase had seen Faf du Plessis, Mangaliso Mosehle and Henry Davids all depart playing big strokes, with Du Plessis and Davids dismissed by superb catches by Robin Peterson and Hashim Amla respectively.

Morkel was then dropped at mid-off on nought by Richard Levi and Behardien was given not out to the next ball, despite replays suggesting that he had edged Justin Kemp through to the wicketkeeper.

That proved the turning point in the game, as Behardien went on to hit 41 from 23 balls before Kemp (2 for 10 from two overs) gained revenge, and Morkel finished unbeaten on 22 as the Titans won with three balls to spare.

A huge thunderstorm had cut the Cobras’ innings short in the first part of the evening, with the visitors stopped short on 96 for four after 13.1 overs after they had been asked to bat first.

Amla and Graeme Smith were once again a big part of the Cobras’ knock, with Amla surviving a dismissal off a no-ball to score 48 from 29 balls, and Smith stroking a run-a-ball 23.

Roelof van der Merwe was the key bowler for the Titans as he took 2 for 18 from four overs, while Rowan Richards also caught the eye as he dismissed Amla and JP Duminy with successive deliveries.


Titans: Jacques Rudolph, Henry Davids (captain), Heino Kuhn, Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, Albie Morkel, David Wiese, Roelof van der Merwe, Mangaliso Mosehle (wicketkeeper), Ethy Mbhalati, Rowan Richards

Cape Cobras: Richard Levi, Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, JP Duminy, Justin Ontong (captain), Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Justin Kemp, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Beuran Hendricks, Aviwe Mgijima



Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2014 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.