T20 Domestic Cup

T20 series to open with a bang

2014-10-21 20:42
Ram Slam T20 trophy (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - This season's T20 domestic challenge will start with a triple header on November 2 at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, Cricket SA (CSA) announced on Tuesday.

"One of the ideas we launched last season was the concept of a triple header with all six franchises playing at one venue on the same day," CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said in a statement.

"This was such a success that we have expanded it to three triple headers this coming summer, giving fans the chance to see all their favourite players in one venue."

Lorgat revealed that the Proteas players could also feature in some of the games this season.

"The fixtures have been designed to allow our Proteas the chance to play in the latter stages of the competition which would include the eliminator between second and third placed teams and the grand final," he said.

Last season also saw the competition televised globally for the first time, and this season's tournament will once again be screened throughout Africa, Asia and the United Kingdom.

"It has been an incredibly exciting and invigorating new challenge for me to be involved as the tournament director for the RAM SLAM T20 competition," said former Proteas captain Graeme Smith.

Meanwhile, cricket fans attending the 2014/2015 edition of the T20 challenge that successfully take a clean, one-handed catch at a televised match could win a share of R1 million.

The catch must be taken off a "six" hit and juggling the ball with one or two hands will not be accepted as a clean catch and must be clearly visible on the stadium replay screen and broadcast TV camera.

Last season's competition saw crowd attendance increase by 43 percent with more than 212 000 fans passing through the turnstiles as compared to the season before.

Television audience ratings also saw a significant rise with a 92 percent increase from the season before amounting to over 1,7 million unique viewers during the 21 matches.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2015 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.