T20 Domestic Cup

Lions crowned T20 champions

2013-04-07 17:58
Aaron Phangiso and Quinton de Kock (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - Spinners Aaron Phangiso and Imran Tahir claimed two wickets apiece for the Highveld Lions to lead them to a 30-run victory over the Titans in the Ram Slam T20 Challenge final at the Wanderers on Sunday.

Phangiso and Tahir took key top-order wickets for the Lions as the Titans went in search of 156 for victory, eventually being bowled out for just 125.

The Lions had earlier posted 155 for five after winning the toss and batting first, Quinton de Kock once again providing a great start for the home side with his 44 off 31 balls and Neil McKenzie contributing 39 off 32.

Full scorecard

VIDEO: Lions v Titans, highlights

The Titans started in solid fashion with openers Henry Davids (14) and Heino Kuhn (19) adding 40 off 30 balls before Hardus Viljoen had Titans captain Davids caught at third man.

Phangiso then trapped Kuhn and AB de Villiers (4) lbw, both of them missing sweep shots, leaving former Proteas star Herschelle Gibbs to try and play a major innings for his new franchise.

Leg-spinner Tahir trapped the Titans' premier finisher, Farhaan Behardien, lbw for six and when Chris Morris bowled Gibbs for 22, the visitors had slumped to 87 for five.

Roelof van der Merwe (7) fell two balls later to Tahir before David Wiese and Albie Morkel, who was hampered by a twisted ankle, put a different slant in the final by blazing 35 runs in 3.2 overs.

But the return of the fast bowlers saw Wiese hole out off Viljoen for 21 off 13, and the tail was quickly dispensed with.

De Kock had earlier given the Lions the perfect start as he played some dazzling strokes in his 44 which included three fours and three sixes.

The experienced McKenzie showed excellent shot selection in the middle overs, but De Kock's dismissal, in the 11th over, hitting a Davids full toss to long-on, brought the Titans back into the game.

The Lions' strength lay in their bowling throughout the campaign and Viljoen, Tanvir, Phangiso and Morris all finished in the top five wicket-takers.


Highveld Lions:

Rassie van der Dussen, Quinton de Kock, Alviro Petersen, Neil McKenzie, Jean Symes, Temba Bavuma, Chris Morris, Sohail Tanvir, Hardus Viljoen, Imran Tahir, Aaron Phangiso.


Heino Kuhn, Henry Davids, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Farhaan Behardien, Albie Morkel, David Wiese, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Eden Links, Marchant de Lange.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2015 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.