T20 Domestic Cup

Dolphins trounce Warriors

2014-11-05 21:36
Dwayne Bravo (Gallo Images)

Durban - The Dolphins have condemned the Warriors to their second heavy defeat of the RAM SLAM T20 and their ninth loss out of 10 games this season as they won Wednesday’s clash at Kingsmead by 54 runs.

The result meant the Dolphins came away with a bonus point, as they built a total of 181 for four before crushing the Warriors reply, which ended on 127 for eight.

While the Warriors had the better of the first quarter of the match, limiting the Dolphins to 66 for three in their first 10 overs as Jon-Jon Smuts (2 for 21) picked up a couple of cheap wickets, the arrival of Dwayne Bravo quickly swung the momentum.

The West Indian added 93 with Vaughn van Jaarsveld on his Dolphins debut, hitting three sixes in his 43 before Rusty Theron returned to trap him lbw with a vicious inswinger.

Van Jaarsveld continued after Bravo’s departure to finish unbeaten on 51 from 33 balls, and enjoyed support from the other end as Robbie Frylinck clobbered three late boundaries.

The Warriors reply never got off the ground as they lost four wickets in the opening four overs and their fifth batsman departed with the score on 33.

At that point the game’s result was hardly in doubt and the question was whether the visitors could get past their lowest score against the Dolphins - the 91 they made in the 2007/2008 season.

They did so thanks to Somila Seyibokwe’s 39 and Simon Harmer’s 23, but even with the aid of five dropped catches they could not reach the 145 required to deny the Dolphins the bonus point.

Having taken two wickets up front, Craig Alexander grabbed another one at the death to finish with superb figures of 3 for 10 from his four overs.

He was the obvious choice for the Ram Deliverer of the Day, while Van Jaarsveld was the Ram Slammer.

Dolphins: Cameron Delport, Morne van Wyk, Cody Chetty, Khayelihle Zondo, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dwayne Bravo, Sibonelo Makhanya, Robbie Frylinck, Prenelan Subrayen, Craig Alexander, Rabian Engelbrecht.

Warriors: Jon-Jon Smuts, Craig Kieswetter, Colin Ingram, Ryan Bailey, Christiaan Jonker, Somila Seyibokwe, Simon Harmer, Rusty Theron, Sisanda Magala, Ayabulela Gqamane, Lundi Mbane.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2015 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.