T20 Domestic Cup

Cobras clinch RAM SLAM title

2014-12-12 21:32
Omphile Ramela (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Cape Cobras have picked up their ninth trophy in six seasons as they beat the Knights by 33 runs to win the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge in front of a packed Newlands crowd.

It is the first time in four years that the Cobras have won the competition, but they have also clinched four four-day titles and three one-day trophies since the start of the 2009/10 season.

Omphile Ramela was the star of the final with the bat, hitting 54 in just 34 balls as the Cobras racked up 158 for four after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Dane Paterson then claimed 4 for 33 and Dale Steyn conceded just 11 runs in his four overs as the Knights were restricted to 125 for nine.

The two innings followed very similar paths up until the last five overs, when they diverged very swiftly.

The Cobras hit just two boundaries in the powerplay, from which they scored 28 for one, and saved their big hitting for the last nine overs, which yielded 104 as Kieron Pollard (43 not out from 23 balls) joined Ramela in a 68-run stand.

The Knights were slightly more adventurous up front and were within a run of the Cobras at the halfway point, but fell apart entirely as the chase moved into its final phase.

While the Cobras took 68 from their last five overs, the Knights lost five wickets for nine runs in two overs as their challenge went up in flames.

Cobras captain Justin Ontong made less obvious but equally important contributions to the Cobras cause.

He used Steyn at important junctures to put pressure on the Knights batsmen, broke the key stand between Reeza Hendricks (41) and Rilee Rossouw (33) when he had the former caught and bowled, and went on to take five catches in the innings.

Cape Cobras: Hashim Amla, Richard Levi, Omphile Ramela, Justin Ontong (captain), Kieron Pollard, Dane vilas, Robin Peterson, George Linde, Dale Steyn, Dane Paterson, Mthokozis Shezi.

Knights: Werner Coetsee (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Rudi Second, Tumelo Bodibe, Gerhardt Abrahams, Rossouw, Obus Pienaar, Andre Russell, Dillon Du Preez, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Malusi Siboto.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2015 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.