Sunfoil Series

Cobras complete crushing win

2013-02-02 16:27
Justin Kemp (Gallo Images)
Benoni - The Cape Cobras completed a crushing victory over the Titans at Willowmoore Park on Saturday, hammering the hosts by nine wickets inside three days.

The visitors had to knock off a slender 17 runs just after lunch on the third day in order to clinch the victory and, despite Alistair Gray having to retire hurt after facing just one ball and Andrew Puttick falling cheaply, Stiaan van Zyl and Justin Ontong saw their side to victory, keeping their title hopes alive.

Some fine bowling from Johann Louw (3-53), Beuran Hendricks (3-42) and Justin Kemp (3-27) saw the hosts collapse to 195 all out with only Francois le Clus 50 (81 balls) and Farhaan Behardien 48 (148 balls) managing significant contributions for the defending champions in their second innings.

The Titans resumed the third day on 65-2, still 114 runs adrift and, while le Clus was looking steady, he was soon sent on his way, caught in front of his stumps for 50 by Louw. Graeme van Buuren lasted just three balls before he too was sent back to the hut with a zero next to his name as Kemp picked up his first wicket of the innings.

Behardien and Mangaliso Mosehle then combined for a gritty 49-run partnership, but Kemp managed to get the breakthrough for the visitors, trapping Mosehle leg before.

By the lunch break on day three, the Nashua Titans were struggling on 147-5 with Behardien and Roelof van der Merwe having a mountain to climb if the defending champions were to salvage any sort of pride from the match.

The Cape Cobras had other plans, though, and Behardien was dismissed shortly after the break, caught by Charl Langeveldt off Hendricks' bowling. Shaun von Berg, who scored a feisty 47 in the first innings, failed to emulate his heroics and was out for two.

CJ de Villiers lasted just 35 balls before he too was sent back to the hut and the collapse continued with JP de Villiers out for a duck in the very next over.

Rowan Richards hit a four and six, before he had to go and Roelof van der Merwe was stranded on an unbeaten 26 off 62 balls at the other end.


Heino Khun, Francois le Clus, CJ de Villiers, Graeme van Buuren, Henry Davids (captain), Roelof van der Merwe, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle (wicketkeeper), JP de Villiers, Rowan Richards, Shaun von Berg

Cape Cobras:

Alistair Gray, Andrew Puttick, Stiaan van Zyl, Justin Ontong (captain), Yaseen Vallie, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Justin Kemp, Johann Louw, Dane Piedt, Charl Langeveldt, Beuran Hendricks

Read more on:    titans  |  cape cobras  |  sunfoil series  |  benoni  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Argentina overpower spirited Tonga
LIVE: Ireland v Italy
As it happened: Tonga 16-45 Argentina
Betham: Future is out of my hands

Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.