Cricket

Sangakkara cleared by ICC

2010-08-21 12:37
Kumar Sangakkara

Dambulla - Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has been cleared of improper conduct by the ICC after being accused of deliberately colliding with New Zealand offspinner Nathan McCullum during a ODI.

Sangakkara was attempting to take a second run in an over bowled by McCullum when the incident took place Friday. Australian match referee Alan Hurst said Saturday that video footage during the tri-series match raised reasonable doubt the collision was deliberate.

The match was abandoned because of rain.

New Zealand leads the standings with seven points, one more than Sri Lanka and two in front of India.

Read more on:    kumar sangakkara  |  cricket
NEXT ON SPORT24X

 

Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
0 comments
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

 
 
Men
Women
Love 2 Meet
Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs
Vote

Which cricketer is currently of most value to the Proteas' Test team?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

 
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.