Pakistan v SA

Smith returns as Proteas bat

2010-11-05 12:55
Graeme Smith (File)

Dubai - Fit-again South African captain Graeme Smith won the toss and decided to bat in the fourth day-night international match on Friday.

South Africa, who lead the five-match series 2-1, were lucky to have Smith back after he recovered from a hand injury which forced him to miss the last two matches.

They were also boosted by the return of frontline paceman Dale Steyn who missed both the Twenty20 and the first three one-day matches because of a head injury sustained last month.

Paceman Wayne Parnell also returns to the team as Albie Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Rusty Theron were left out.

Pakistan left out off-spinner Saeed Ajmal and brought in left-arm slow bowler Abdul Rehman as the only change in the side from the last match.

South Africa won the first match by eight wickets before Pakistan levelled the series with a narrow one-wicket win in the second -- both matches played in Abu Dhabi last week.

South Africa won the third match by two runs in Dubai on Tuesday.

The five-match one-day series will be followed by two Tests.



Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Fawad Alam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Abdul Razzaq, Zulqarnain Haider, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Rehman, Shoaib Akhtar

South Africa

Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, David Miller, Johan Botha, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell

Umpires: Zameer Haider (PAK) and Daryl Harper (AUS)

Tv Umpire: Ahsan Raza (PAK)

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    pvp

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.